WSMD - Stormwater MS4 top GP

WSMD - Stormwater MS4 topapp

WSMD - Stormwater MS4 tophelp

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) General Permit


On July 27, 2018, Vermont's MS4 Permit was issued.  This MS4 permit is the third MS4 General Permit issued by the State of Vermont.  The first MS4 permit was issued in 2003 and amended in 2004 and the next was issued in 2012.  The 2018 permit authorizes stormwater discharges within the Urbanized Areas of the following small MS4s: Burlington, Colchester, Essex, Essex Junction, Milton, Shelburne, South Burlington, Williston, and Winooski, the University of Vermont, and the Burlington International Airport.

Concurrent with the 2012 MS4 permit issuance, the Department is designated those portions of Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems that discharge to the stormwater impaired waters. The designated small MS4s, within the stormwater impaired watersheds, are operated by the City of Rutland, the Town of Rutland, the City of St. Albans, the Town of St. Albans, and the Vermont Agency of Transportation within the geographic boundaries of the stormwater impaired watersheds in the municipalities listed above. 

The most significant change in the 2012 MS4 permit is the requirement for municipalities to develop Flow Restoration Plans (FRPs) to implement the stormwater TMDLs.  The FRPs must be developed for each impaired watershed within 3 years and must include the following elements: 1) an identification of the required controls, 2) a design and construction schedule, 3) a financial plan, 4) a regulatory analysis, 5) the identification of regulatory assistance, and 6) identification of any third party implementation.  The schedule shall provide for implementation of the required BMPs as soon as possible, but no later than 20 years from the effective date of the permit.

For more information on the MS4 permit, contact Christy Witters at (802) 490-6173 or at or Emily Schelley at (802) 490-6172 or at



WSMD - Stormwater Home