Registering an UST
To register an UST, complete and email the applicable parts of the UST Form (Part I, Part II, Part III, PartIV) to the contact listed below. Note that the form(s) can be filled out online, but it cannot be saved and submitted online.
Tank owners must have Part 1 of the UST form recorded in the town/city land records. Owners and operators of all category one, two, and three UST systems shall record the existence and location of USTs in municipal land records in accordance with this section. The owner or operator shall submit a completed Part l of the UST form and the municipal recording fee (all town/city recording fees are $15 per page) required by 32 V.S.A. § 1671. The fee shall be submitted with the application. Payment shall be made by check payable to the municipality in which the UST system is located. Mail Part l and the recording fee to:
State of Vermont, DEC/WMPD/UST Program
Attn: Sue Thayer
1 National Life Drive, Davis 1
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704
Permitting an UST
Permitting is required for all Category One Tanks (COTs). COTs are USTs that contain motor fuel and fuel oil for retail sales, back up generators, waste oil storage, and chemical storage. Permits to operate USTs are renewed annually. New permits and changes to permits are posted on the Environmental Notice Bulletin for 15 days prior to issue.
To obtain an UST Permit:
Complete and submit an Operator A/B Designation form.
If you have questions about UST permitting, please contact:
Change of Ownership
When a facility with USTs is changing ownership, a form must be completed through ANRonline. The ownership change must also be recorded in the land record with the municipality in which the tank(s) are located. City and town clerks require a $15 per page fee for the land record update.
Please note that permits do not transfer, and a change of ownership requires a permit in the new owner's name. The buyer must apply for a permit, and the permit then has to be drafted. If the facility has been sold, and the new owner has not done a change of ownership resulting in a new UST permit, the USTs cannot be in operation. In the instance of a facility sale, it is a best practice to contact the UST Program in advance of the scheduled real estate closing to determine whether the facility is in compliance with the UST rules and learn what systems the facility has onsite. Call 802-828-1138 and ask to speak with UST Program staff.
Note that all permitted facilities are required to have an A/B operator. For more information, please go to the Operator Training webpage. Be aware that training is done by selecting the training options best suited for the UST system (e.g., pressurized or suction).
USTs that are not permitted, but still require registration, will need to complete a change of ownership form. Complete the change of ownership online.
Updating Local Land Records
Each city or town's land records must be updated when there is a new owner of a facility or the number of tanks change at the property. All Vermont municipalities charge a $15 per page fee for recording changes to these records. Please print the form and mail it, along with the $15 check made out to the city or town, to the following (UST Program staff will send the form and check to the city or town for recording):
1 National Life Drive, Davis 1
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704
If There are Tanks that Need to be Permitted
Permitted Tank - Change of ownership will require a new operating permit, and the new owner must pay the $125.00 per tank permit fee online.
Provide proof of online payment with a PDF copy of the payment reciept to: email@example.com
Registered Tank (only) - When ownership has been transferred to a new party, ANR must be notified within 30 days. The municipal land record will also need to be updated.
Frequently Asked Questions
What tanks must be registered?
Registration is required for all USTs, except for tanks under 1100 gallons located at a farm or a single family residence. USTs at public buildings must register no matter what size. All USTs used for the storage of diesel, fuel oil, kerosene, gasoline, new oil, used (waste) oil, chemical product, and out-of-service tanks are required to be registered.
Please note that Propane tanks are not regulated by the UST Program (or any other program within ANR). Please go to the VT Department of Public Safety Division of Fire Safety's website for infomation on propane tanks.
What does registration mean?
A tank owner is required to register a UST, by using a form provided by the Agency for all new and existing USTs.
Are any USTs exempt from registration?
Yes, USTs at a farm or single family residence in Vermont are exempt, provided that they are:
- Less than 1100 gallons and are used exclusively for on-premises heating and domestic hot water; or
- Less than 1100 gallons and are used for storing motor fuel which is not used in connection with a commercial operation
What USTs are required to have a permit issued by the Agency?
All owners or operators of Category One Tanks are required to have a permit to install, upgrade, or operate a Category One Tank.
Are any registered USTs exempt from having a permit?
Yes, the following are exempt from registration and or permitting requirements:
- UST(s) storing fuel oil for on-premises heating and domestic hot water at a single family dwelling under 1100 gallons
- UST(s) for farm or residential use and storing motor fuel under 1100 gallons
- UST(s) that has been permanently closed-in-place
What is the definition of a Category One Tank (COT)?
All USTs are COTs, except for: fuel oil storage tanks used for on-premises heating purposes, or farm or residential tanks used for storing motor fuel.
What is financial responsibility (FR)?
In order to ensure that money is available for on-site cleanup of a release to the environment and compensation of third parties for bodily injury and property damage, owners or operators of petroleum USTs are required by federal and state law to demonstrate that they have the capability to pay for sudden and non-sudden accidental releases from their USTs. This requirement applies to all COTs, and is referred to as financial responsibility (FR).
Note that if the Petroleum Cleanup Fund (PCF) is chosen as the mechanism to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement of the UST Permit, then a check for the first year tank assessment is required to accompany the UST form. Make check payable to the Treasurer, State of Vermont.
What fees are required?
The only fee required for registering a UST is a check for $15 made payable to the Town or City Clerk of the municipality in which the tank is located. This is a land record fee. The online UST Form is to be printed and mailed to the UST program. Program staff will send the form and your check to the town or city clerk. the form is recorded in the land records against the land owner’s name. For tanks that require a permit to operate, fees are $125 per tank per year. Note that a compartmental tank is considered one tank.
For example, if a facility is brand new and never had tanks, then the fees are $15 for the land record fee and $125 per tank fee. If a permitted facility is adding another tank(s), the fees are as stated above
Contact Vermont's UST Program: