Waste Management and Prevention Division Contact Information

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Waste Management and Prevention Division
Davis Building - 1st Floor
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704
During  Office hours (M-F 7:45am – 4:30pm EST):  Telephone: 802-828-1138
24-Hour HAZMAT HOTLINE:  800-641-5005
Report a Spill
Jump to a Waste Management Division Program:
Waste Management Division Contact Information
Name, Position and Brief Job Description Email Address Phone
Matt Chapman - Director
matt.champan@vermont.gov 802-249-4393
Wendy Anderson - Administrative Assistant
wendy.anderson@vermont.gov 802-522-0202
Jordan Gonda - Legal Counsel
jordan.gonda@vermont.gov 802-338-7522
Lisa Brassard - Administrative Services  
lisa.brassard@vermont.gov 802-522-4395
Vacant - Administrative Services  
vacant.vacant@vermont.gov 802-461-6256
ResidualS MANAGEMENT & Emerging Contaminants Program
Eamon Twohig - Program Manager
Residuals Management (wastewater sludge, biosolids, septage, water treatment residuals, short paper fiber, wood ash); Emerging Contaminants
eamon.twohig@vermont.gov 802-490-6189
Josh Burns  
Residuals Management (wastewater sludge, biosolids, septage, water treatment residauls, short paper fiber, wood ash); Emerging Contaminants
joshua.burns@vermont.gov 802-585-5040
Hazardous Waste Management Program
Anna Bourakovsky - Hazardous Waste Program Manager
anna.bourakovsky@vermont.gov 802-477-2981
Cindy Grimes
cindy.grimes@vermont.gov 802-522-0307
Wendy Edwards
wendy.edwards@vermont.gov 802-522-0261
William Sisson
william.sisson@vermont.gov 802-461-6603
Michael Nucci
michael.nucci@vermont.gov 802-522-0287
Sites Management Section and Brownfields Response Program
Matt Moran - Environmental Program Manager
Sites Management Section Program Manager; PCF Administrator
matt.moran@vermont.gov 802-522-5729
Kristin Schultz - PCF Administrator & AST Financial Assistance
kristin.schultz@vermont.gov 802-522-0071
James Donaldson
Hazardous site manager, spill program member
james.donaldson@vermont.gov 802-477-2632
Matthew Becker
Hazardous site manager
matthew.becker@vermont.gov 802-249-5770
Gerold Noyes
Hazardous site manager
gerold.noyes@vermont.gov 802-522-5614
John Schmeltzer
Hazardous site manager
john.schmeltzer@vermont.gov 802-249-5620
Richard Spiese
Hazardous site manager
richard.spiese@vermont.gov 802-249-5083
Tami Wuestenberg
Hazardous site manager
tami.wuestenberg@vermont.gov 802-249-5186
Michael Nahmias
Hazardous site manager, spill program member
michael.nahmias@vermont.gov 802-522-4595
Rob Farley
Hazardous site manager
rob.farley@vermont.gov 802-622-4162
Patricia Coppolino - Senior Environmental Program Manager
Sites Management Section Senior Program Manager
patricia.coppolino@vermont.gov 802-249-5822
Lynda Provencher
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
lynda.provencher@vermont.gov 802-249-5562
Vacant
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
   
Sarah Bartlett - Sites Management Section Supervisor
Sites Management Section Supervisor; Brownfields Program Coordinator
sarah.bartlett@vermont.gov 802-249-5641
Linda Elliott
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
linda.elliott@vermont.gov 802-249-5479
Kristi Herzer
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
kristi.herzer@vermont.gov 802-461-6918
Kimberly Caldwell
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
kimberly.caldwell@vermont.gov 802-461-5857
Shawn Donovan
Certification of "preferred site" status for renewable energy development projects, Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program. Spill Program member.
shawn.donovan@vermont.gov 802-522-5683
Graham Bradley
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
grahame.bradley@vermont.gov 802-622-4129
Solid Waste Management Program
Cathy Jamieson - Solid Waste Program Manager
Oversees the Solid Waste Management Program, consisting of the following sections: Certification, Compliance and Materials Management. Focus areas: Legislative, policy and implementation strategies.
cathy.jamieson@vermont.gov 802-522-5938
Dennis Fekert - Certification Section Manager
Responsibilities include oversight of permitting and technical staff. Focus areas: facility certifications.
dennis.fekert@vermont.gov 802-522-0195
Jeff Bourdeau
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: Contaminated soils, debris, NEWS VT landfill in Coventry, and transfer station permits.
jeff.bourdeau@vermont.gov 802-522-0131
Ben Gauthier
Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: composting, food scraps, landfills, Solid Waste facility permitting (HHW, compost and anaerobic digestion, compost technical assistance), regulated medical waste and website updates.
benjamin.gauthier@vermont.gov 802-522-5080
Kasey Kathan
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work and special projects. Additional responsibilities include hydrogeologic review, and closed landfills. Focus areas: Closed landfill oversight, ReTrac questions, solid waste facilities permitting, water quality at solid waste facilities.
kasey.kathan@vermont.gov 802-522-0561
James (Buzz) Surwilo
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: Act 175 (architectural waste), Act 250 (collection, aggregation, & temporary storage of solid waste to be transferred to a certified transfer station), asbestos, asphalt shingles, Construction & Demolition (C&D) waste (i.e. drywall, asphalt shingles, clean wood, etc.), road base cover, and tires.
james.surwilo@vermont.gov 802-522-5056
Barb Schwendtner - Compliance Section Manager
Responsibilities include: assuring all facilities and general public comply with Solid Waste Management Rules, statutes, permits and certifications. Conducts inspections, prepares enforcement referrals, and receives and responds to complaints.  Reviews clean-up plans for illegal dumps. Focus areas: Solid waste facility and hauler compliance and enforcement.
barb.schwendtner@vermont.gov 802-249-5904
Aric Brown
Responsibilities include assisting in public compliance with solid waste management rules and statutes, field work, enforcement involvement, and responding to complaints. Focus areas: Compliance with certifications of facilities and haulers; enforcing VT Solid Waste Management Rules.
aric.brown@vermont.gov 802-461-5759
Cheryl Hamilton
Responsibilities include: Transporter Permitting: overseeing all solid, residual, or hazardous waste applications for a new, or renewal of their transporter/hauler permits, and keeping them informed of current regulations.  Focus areas: Review all applications, perform criminal background checks, review VT Corporations listing, determine permit eligibility, and responds to complaints regarding unpermitted haulers. ReTRAC: review Solid Waste facilities quarterly/annual reporting for accuracy and approval. 
cheryl.hamilton@vermont.gov 802-522-5949
Vacant
Responsibilities include: Inspections of solid waste facilities and responding to complaints or compliance questions related to solid waste facilities.  Focus areas: ReTRAC online reporting system for solid waste facilities.
vacant.vacant@vermont.gov 802-622-4011
Vince Chiorgno
Salvage Yard Program Coordinator. Responsibilities include inspections of permitted facilities, permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Spill Program Member.
vincent.chiorgno@vermont.gov 802-522-0245
Josh Kelly - Materials Management Section Manager
Responsibilities include: oversight of Universal Recycling law implementation, Vermont E-Cycles and other EPR programs. Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), composting and anaerobic digestion, and unit based pricing (pay as you throw).
josh.kelly@vermont.gov 802-522-5897
Emma Stuhl
Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, data analysis, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), recycling, composting, single-use products (bags, straws, food and beverage containers, etc.), packaging, and waste reduction. Point-person for Addison County SWMD, Chittenden SWD, Central VT SWMD, Mad River Resource Mgmt. Alliance, and Mountain Alliance.
emma.stuhl@vermont.gov 802-622-4325
Karen Knaebel
Responsibilities include E-Cycles Program: oversight of the State Standard Program, working with contractor for collection and pick-up of discarded electronics. Mercury program: manufacturer requirements, EPR lamp and thermostat programs, and dental mercury. Focus areas: E-Cycles Program, and mercury take-back programs.
karen.knaebel@vermont.gov 802-522-5736
Alyssa Eiklor
Responsibilities include: implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, website, data management, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), recycling, composting, single-use products (bags, straws, food and beverage containers, etc.), household hazardous waste, and waste reduction. Point person for Northwest VT SWMD, Northeast Kingdom WMD, Lamoille Regional SWMD, and northern independent towns.
alyssa.eiklor@vermont.gov 802-477-2097
Anne Bijur
Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), recycling, composting, food rescue, and waste reduction. Point-person for Bennington County RPC, Rutland County SWD, and Solid Waste Alliance Communities.
anne.bijur@vermont.gov 802-522-5783
Rebecca Webber
Responsibilities include: E-Cycles Program, oversight of manufacturer Opt-Out Program, manufacturer and service provider registrations, reporting, invoicing, product determinations, and database management; beverage container law issues. Focus areas: E-Cycles Program, beverage container law (redemption centers, product registrations, policy). 
rebecca.webber@vermont.gov 802-522-3658
Mia Roethlein
Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, paint and battery stewardship programs, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), recycling, composting, and household hazardous waste. Point-person for Windham SWMD, S. Windsor/Windham County SWMD, Greater Upper Valley SWMD, White River Alliance and Londonderry Group.  
mia.roethlein@vermont.gov 802-522-5926
 Storage Tanks
Ted Unkles -UST Program Manager
Program Coordinator, Inspections, Compliance Issue, UST Regulations, Operator Training, Liaison with EPA.
ted.unkles@vermont.gov 802-522-0488
Jaymi Cleland
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Compliance, Closure, Install, and Hazardous Material Spill Reporting, Spill Program Member.
jaymi.cleland@vermont.gov 802-917-1386
June Reilly (retired as of 6/21/2019)
 
   
Sue Thayer
Underground Storage Tank (UST) compliance inspection at permitted facilities, UST removal report review, Residential UST Home Heating Oil Financial Assistance
susan.thayer@vermont.gov 802-522-0487
Spill Team
Click here for numbers to call to report a spill.
Tim Cropley - Program Manager
Spill program manager, underground storage tank inspector, hazardous sites manager
tim.cropley@vermont.gov 802-249-5346
Michael Nahmias
Spill Program Member
michael.nahmias@vermont.gov 802-522-4595
Vince Chiorgno
Spill Program Member
vincent.chiorgno@vermont.gov 802-522-0245
Jaymi Cleland
Spill Program Member
jaymi.cleland@vermont.gov 802-917-1386
James Donaldson
Spill Program Member
james.donaldson@vermont.gov 802-477-2632
Michael Nucci
Spill Program Member
michael.nucci@vermont.gov 802-522-0287
Shawn Donovan
Spill Program Member
shawn.donovan@vermont.gov 802-522-5683

Agency of Natural Resources
Department of Environmental Conservation
Waste Management and Prevention Division

Davis Building - 1st Floor
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704
802-828-1138