Skip to main content

Waste Management and Prevention Division Contact Information

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Waste Management and Prevention Division
Davis Building - 1st Floor
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704
During Office hours (M-F 7:45am – 4:30pm EST):  Telephone: 802-828-1138
24-Hour HAZMAT HOTLINE: 800-641-5005
Report a Spill
Jump to a Waste Management Division Program:
Waste Management Division Contact Information
Name, Position and Brief Job Description Email Address Phone
Matt Chapman - Director
matt.chapman@vermont.gov 802-249-4393
Simonne Valcour - Legal Counsel
simonne.valcour@vermont.gov 802-636-7282
Lisa Brassard - Administrative Services
lisa.brassard@vermont.gov 802-522-4395
Diana Lee - Administrative Services
diana.lee@vermont.gov 802-261-5873
Residuals Management & Emerging Contaminants Program
Eamon Twohig - Program Manager
Residuals Management (wastewater sludge, biosolids, septage, short paper fiber, wood ash) & Emerging Contaminants with primary focus on per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS)
eamon.twohig@vermont.gov 802-490-6189
Josh Burns
Residuals Management (wastewater sludge, biosolids, septage, short paper fiber, wood ash) & Emerging Contaminants with primary focus on per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) and microplastics
joshua.burns@vermont.gov 802-585-5040
Hazardous Materials Program (Hazardous Waste and Storage Tanks)
Anna Bourakovsky - Hazardous Materials Program Manager
Oversees the Hazardous Materials Program. Focus areas: Regulatory Interpretation, contained-in determinations, Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) Rules.
anna.bourakovsky@vermont.gov 802-477-2981
Wendy Edwards
Hazardous Waste: Manifests, Site ID Forms, Generator Fees, Hazardous Waste Taxes, Toxic Use and Hazardous Waste Reduction Fees.
Storage Tanks: Operating Permits, Annual Permit Fees, Compliance Test Reports, A/B Operator Certifications, Self-Certification, Financial Responsibility
wendy.edwards@vermont.gov 802-522-0261
Drew Youngs
Hazardous Materials Program: Regulatory Compliance Assistance, Toxic Use and Hazardous Waste Reduction (TUHWR) Planning and Reporting, Public Outreach.
andrew.youngs@vermont.gov 802-461-5929
Hazardous Waste Section
Michael Nucci
Hazardous Waste Compliance Inspections, Facility and Emergency Permitting, Regulatory Interpretation, RCRA Corrective Action, Spill Program Member
michael.nucci@vermont.gov 802-522-0287
Cindy Grimes
Hazardous Waste Compliance Inspections, Facility and Emergency Permitting, Regulatory Interpretation, RCRA Financial Assurance.
cindy.grimes@vermont.gov 802-522-0307
William Sisson
Hazardous Waste Compliance Inspections, Facility and Emergency Permitting, Regulatory Interpretation, Spill Program Member.
william.sisson@vermont.gov 802-461-6603
Storage Tanks Section
Michael Nahmias-Storage Tanks Section Supervisor
Underground Storage Tank (UST) and Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) Compliance, UST Variance Requests, UST Loan Assistance Program Administrator, UST Compliance Inspections, Spill Program Member.
michael.nahmias@vermont.gov 802-522-4595
Jaymi Cleland
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Compliance, Closure, and Install inspections, Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) compliance,  Section Technical Lead, Spill Program Member.
jaymi.cleland@vermont.gov 802-917-1386
Sue Thayer
Underground Storage Tank (UST) compliance inspection at permitted facilities, UST removal report review, UST Installation Permits, Residential UST Home Heating Oil Financial Assistance.
susan.thayer@vermont.gov 802-522-0487
Kristin Schultz
AST Financial Assistance, AST Red Tag List.
kristin.schultz@vermont.gov 802-522-0071
Sites Management Section and Brownfields Response Program
Patricia Coppolino
Senior Environmental Program Manager
patricia.coppolino@vermont.gov 802-249-5822
Sarah Bartlett
Environmental Program Manager & Brownfields Program Coordinator
sarah.bartlett@vermont.gov 802-249-5641
Matt Moran
Environmental Program Manager & PCF Administrator
matt.moran@vermont.gov 802-522-5729
Caitlyn Bain
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields Program
caitlyn.bain@vermont.gov 802-461-6204
Anastasia Bartsch
Hazardous site manager
anastasia.bartsch@vermont.gov 802-261-5170
Matthew Becker
Hazardous site manager
matthew.becker@vermont.gov 802-249-5770
Grahame Bradley
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields Program
grahame.bradley@vermont.gov 802-622-4129
Kimberly Caldwell
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields Program
kimberly.caldwell@vermont.gov 802-461-5857
James Donaldson
Hazardous site manager & Spill Program
james.donaldson@vermont.gov 802-477-2632
Shawn Donovan
Hazardous site manager, Brownfields program, Spill Program & "Preferred Site" certifications
shawn.donovan@vermont.gov 802-522-5683
Rob Farley
Hazardous site manager
rob.farley@vermont.gov 802-622-4162
Kristi Herzer
Hazardous site manager, Brownfields Program, Technical Program Lead
kristi.herzer@vermont.gov 802-461-6918
Kasey Kathan
Hazardous site manager
kasey.kathan@vermont.gov 802-522-0561
Kassandra Kimmey
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields Program
kassandra.kimmey@vermont.gov 802-505-8060
Zachary Neudeck
Hazardous site manager
zachary.neudeck@vermont.gov 802-505-0682
Eben Pendleton
PCB Coordinator
eben.pendleton@vermont.gov 802-261-1269
Lynda Provencher
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields Program, Rules & Procedures Program Lead
lynda.provencher@vermont.gov 802-249-5562
Richard Spiese
Hazardous site manager
richard.spiese@vermont.gov 802-249-5083
Rachel Twerdowsky
Hazardous site manager
rachel.twerdowsky@vermont.gov 802-261-5348
Malayika Vincent
Hazardous site manager
malayika.vincent@vermont.gov  802-505-1351
Solid Waste Management Program
Josh Kelly - Solid Waste Program Manager
Oversees the Solid Waste Management Program, consisting of the following sections: Certification, Compliance and Materials Management. Focus areas: Legislative, policy and implementation strategies.
josh.kelly@vermont.gov 802-522-5897
Dennis Fekert - Certification Section Supervisor
Responsibilities include oversight of permitting and technical staff. Focus areas: facility certifications.
dennis.fekert@vermont.gov 802-522-0195
Vacant
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: Act 175 (architectural waste), Act 250 (collection, aggregation, & temporary storage of solid waste to be transferred to a certified transfer station), asbestos, asphalt shingles, Construction & Demolition (C&D) waste (i.e. drywall, asphalt shingles, clean wood, etc.), road base cover, and tires).
vacant.vacant@vermont.gov 802-XXX-XXXX
Jeff Bourdeau
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: Contaminated soils, debris, NEWS VT landfill in Coventry, and transfer station permits.
jeff.bourdeau@vermont.gov 802-522-0131
Ben Gauthier
Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: composting, food scraps, landfills, Solid Waste facility permitting (HHW, compost and anaerobic digestion, compost technical assistance), regulated medical waste and website updates.
benjamin.gauthier@vermont.gov 802-522-5080
Steven Young
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work and special projects. Additional responsibilities include hydrogeologic review, and closed landfills. Focus areas: Closed landfill oversight, solid waste facilities permitting, water quality at solid waste facilities.
steven.young@vermont.gov 802-261-5823
Barb Schwendtner - Compliance Section Supervisor
Responsibilities include: assuring all facilities and general public comply with Solid Waste Management Rules, statutes, permits and certifications. Conducts inspections, prepares enforcement referrals, and receives and responds to complaints.  Reviews clean-up plans for illegal dumps. Focus areas: Solid waste facility and hauler compliance and enforcement.
barb.schwendtner@vermont.gov 802-249-5904
Aric Brown
Responsibilities include assisting in public compliance with solid waste management rules and statutes, field work, enforcement involvement, and responding to complaints. Focus areas: Compliance with certifications of facilities and haulers; enforcing VT Solid Waste Management Rules.
aric.brown@vermont.gov 802-461-5759
Charlene Dandrea
Responsibilities include: Transporter Permitting: overseeing all solid, residual, or hazardous waste applications for a new, or renewal of their transporter/hauler permits, and keeping them informed of current regulations.  Focus areas: Review all applications, perform criminal background checks, review VT Corporations listing, determine permit eligibility, and responds to complaints regarding unpermitted haulers. 
charlene.dandrea@vermont.gov 802-261-5171
Frank Erickson
Responsibilities include: Inspections of solid waste facilities and responding to complaints or compliance questions related to solid waste facilities.  Focus areas: ReTRAC online reporting system for solid waste facilities.
frank.erickson@vermont.gov 802-461-6116
Vince Chiorgno
Salvage Yard Program Coordinator. Responsibilities include inspections of permitted facilities, permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Spill Program Member.
vincent.chiorgno@vermont.gov 802-522-0245
Anne Bijur - Materials Management Section Supervisor
Responsibilities include: oversight and implementation Vermont's Materials Management Plan and Universal Recycling law, as well as Extended Producer Responsibility programs and the Single-Use Products law. Focus areas: waste reduction, recycling and food donation.
anne.bijur@vermont.gov 802-522-5783
Emma Stuhl
Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, data analysis, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), recycling, composting, single-use products (bags, straws, food and beverage containers, etc.), packaging, and waste reduction. Point-person for Addison County SWMD, Chittenden SWD, Central VT SWMD, Mad River Resource Mgmt. Alliance, and Mountain Alliance.
emma.stuhl@vermont.gov 802-622-4325
Karen Knaebel
Responsibilities include E-Cycles Program: oversight of the State Standard Program, working with contractor for collection and pick-up of discarded electronics. Mercury program: manufacturer requirements, EPR lamp and thermostat programs, and dental mercury. Focus areas: E-Cycles Program, and mercury take-back programs.
karen.knaebel@vermont.gov 802-522-5736
Alyssa Eiklor
Responsibilities include: implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, website, data management, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), recycling, composting, single-use products (bags, straws, food and beverage containers, etc.), household hazardous waste, and waste reduction. Point person for Northwest VT SWMD, Northeast Kingdom WMD, Lamoille Regional SWMD, and northern independent towns.
alyssa.eiklor@vermont.gov 802-477-2097
Shannon Choquette
Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), recycling, composting, food rescue, tires, and waste reduction. Point-person for Bennington County RPC, Greater Upper Valley SWMD, Hartford, Londonderry Group, Rutland County SWD, Solid Waste Alliance Communities, Southern Windsor/Windham Counties SWMD, White River Alliance, Whitingham, Windham SWMD and Winhall.
shannon.choquette@vermont.gov 802-522-0302
Rebecca Webber
Responsibilities include: E-Cycles Program, oversight of manufacturer Opt-Out Program, manufacturer and service provider registrations, reporting, invoicing, product determinations, and database management; beverage container law issues. Focus areas: E-Cycles Program, beverage container law (redemption centers, product registrations, policy).
rebecca.webber@vermont.gov 802-522-3658
Mia Roethlein
Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, Universal Recycling outreach, paint and battery stewardship programs, household hazardous waste extended producer responsibility, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), recycling, composting, and household hazardous waste. 
mia.roethlein@vermont.gov 802-522-5926
Spill Team
Click here for numbers to call to report a spill.
Tim Cropley - Program Manager
Spill program manager, underground storage tank inspector
tim.cropley@vermont.gov 802-249-5346
Michael Nahmias
Spill Manager
michael.nahmias@vermont.gov 802-522-4595
Vince Chiorgno
Spill Manager
vincent.chiorgno@vermont.gov 802-522-0245
Jaymi Cleland
Spill Manager
jaymi.cleland@vermont.gov 802-917-1386
James Donaldson
Spill Manager
james.donaldson@vermont.gov 802-477-2632
Michael Nucci
Spill Manager
michael.nucci@vermont.gov 802-522-0287
Shawn Donovan
Spill Manager
shawn.donovan@vermont.gov 802-522-5683
William Sisson
Spill Manager
william.sisson@vermont.gov 802-461-6603