Contact Information

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Water Investment Division
Main Building - 2nd Floor
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-3510
Main Telephone: 802-828-1550
Fax: 802-828-1552

 

Jump to a Water Investment Division Program:
Water Investment Division Contact Information
Name, Position and Brief Job Description Email Address Phone
Neil Kamman, Division Director
Strategic direction, supervision of management staff, and development of policy for water investment, including targeting of resources to highest-value pollution control opportunities. Coordination of interagency and cross-organization policy and initiative development, and legislative support. Development of Clean Water Service Delivery Act initiatives.
Neil.Kamman@vermont.gov 802-490-6137
Eric Blatt, PE - Director for Engineering
Supervises Division chiefs and staff. Develops proposed Rule and Statute changes relating to water infrastructure and capital expenditures, and provides related testimony at the legislature, participates in Department Management efforts, resolves technical and eligibility issues within the Division.
Eric.Blatt@vermont.gov 802-585-4901
Mary Clark
Provides support and technical assistance to the Village Wastewater Solutions Initiative.
Mary.Clark@vermont.gov  
Corie Dunn - Administrative Assistant
Provides office administrative support to this Division and two others.
Corie.Dunn@vermont.gov 802-828-1550
Agency Facilities Section
James Burke, PE - Section Chief, Environmental Engineer
Supervises Agency Facilities Section staff and works to develop engineering designs for Agency infrastructure projects.
Jim.Burke@vermont.gov 802-777-3396
David Webb, PE - Environmental Engineer
Develops engineering designs for Agency infrastructure projects. Duties include development of basis of design, approval and issuance of final plans and specfications, bid assistance, construction oversight, project closeout. Also provide planning level engineering and technical assistance to Agency programs.
David.Webb@vermont.gov 802-595-9896
Brian Picotte - Environmental Technician
Conducts Topographic Surveys, produces site plans utilizing CAD and GIS, and assists Facilities Engineering with development of Project Specifications, permit acquisitions, estimates and budgets, staging procurements, and conducts construction site layout, project construction phase oversite, and general Project Management as assigned.
Brian.Picotte@vermont.gov 802-490-6220
John Roman - Environmental Technician
Conducts Topographic Surveys, produces site plans utilizing CAD and GIS, and assists Facilities Engineering with development of Project Specifications, permit acquisitions, estimates and budgets, staging procurements, and conducts construction site layout, project construction phase oversite, and general Project Management as assigned.
John.Roman@vermont.gov 802-490-6233
Jennifer Gilbert, EI - Environmental Engineer
Conducts Topographic Surveys, produces site plans utilizing CAD and GIS, and assists Facilities Engineering with development of Project Specifications, permit acquisitions, estimates and budgets, staging procurements, and conducts construction site layout, project construction phase oversite, and general Project Management as assigned.
Jennifer.Gilbert@vermont.gov 802-622-4302
Vacant - Intern
Conducts Topographic Surveys, produces site plans utilizing CAD and GIS, and assists Facilities Engineering with development of Project Specifications, permit acquisitions, estimates and budgets, staging procurments, and conducts construction site layout, project construction phase oversite, and other duties as assigned.
  802-249-3661
Clean Water Initiative Program
Emily Bird - Program Manager
Assists with management of the Clean Water Initiative Program. Serves as the State of Vermont Nonpoint Source Program Coordinator, coordinating nonpoint source management activities statewide; overseeing the Clean Water Initiative Program’s tracking and reporting functions; and coordinating with other State agency staff and partners in tracking clean water progress.
emily.bird@vermont.gov 802-490-4083
Hank (David) Ainley - Environmental Analyst
Springfield Office
Conducts inventories, mapping and assessment of municipal stormwater and municipal wastewater collection infrastructure. Maintains mapping and geo-location equipment. Enters data into and manages an ArcMap stormwater infrastructure geodatabase; queries, programs and troubleshoots ANR ERP GIS problems. Assists with illicit discharge detection efforts.
david.ainley@vermont.gov 802-490-6119
Helen Carr - Environmental Analyst
Supports the Clean Water Initiative Program in tracking Vermont’s clean water progress, provides technical assistance to partners on clean water projects, and serves as a technical grants and contracts manager for Clean Water Initiative Program-funded projects.
helen.carr@vermont.gov 802-490-6115
Marc Companion - Green Infrastructure Outreach and Lake Champlain Sea Grant
Manages the Green Infrastructure Collaborative and assists with outreach for the Green Stormwater Schools initiative and the WISPR (CWSRF Sponsorship Pairing Program authorized through Act 185).
Marc.Companion@uvm.edu 802-373-0250
Jordyn Geller - Lake Champlain Grants Manager
Assists with the management and administration of Lake Champlain Basin Program funded projects, and serves as a technical grants and contracts manager for Clean Water Initiative Program-funded projects; assists with tracking and accounting for clean water project results; assists in the development of a Best Management Practice verification protocol for state-funded projects; assists with program outreach and communications.
jordyn.geller@vermont.gov 802-490-6134
Allison Lewis - Clean Water Initiative Grants & Regional Conservation Partnership Program (RCPP) Coordinator
Responsible for coordination of funding opportunities available through the Clean Water Initiative Program as well as coordination and progress tracking of RCPP projects.
allison.lewis@vermont.gov 802-490-6124
James Pease - Environmental Scientist
Development of Municipal Stormwater Management Programs, Stormwater Master Planning, Research and Stormwater Grant Management
jim.pease@vermont.gov 802-490-6116
Marli Rupe - Agricultural Water Quality Section Chief
Responsible for assisting with development and implementation of agricultural projects, programs and funding within the Clean Water Initiative Program. Responsible for agricultural water quality issues, technical assistance and agriculture program coordination.
marli.rupe@vermont.gov 802-490-6171
Bethany Sargent - Lake Champlain Outreach Coordinator
Coordinates outreach and communications for the Clean Water Initiative Program with a focus on the Lake Champlain TMDL Implementation Plan; supports coordination with the Lake Champlain Basin Program, including staffing the Vermont Citizens Advisory Committee on Lake Champlain and overseeing Lake Champlain Basin Program funded projects.
bethany.sargent@vermont.gov 802-490-6131
Rachel Wood - ECO AmeriCorps Best Management Practice Verification Coordinator
Assists with the development of a Best Management Practice verification protocol for state-funded clean water projects. 
rachel.wood@partner.vermont.gov 802-522-4042
Dam Safety Program
Ben Green, PE - Section Chief, Dam Safety Engineer
Administer the Dam Safety Program under 10 VSA Chapter 43. Review applications to construct or alter dams, conduct inspections, prepare requests for capital funding for Department Dams. Work with owners regarding maintaining or removing their dams.
Benjamin.Green@vermont.gov 802-622-4093
Steve Hanna - Dam Safety Engineer
Administer the Dam Safety Program under 10 VSA Chapter 43. Review applications to construct or alter dams, conduct inspections and provide reports to owners. Work with owners regarding maintaining or removing their dams.
Steven.Hanna@vermont.gov 802-490-6123
Nick Brustin - Dam Safety Intern
Schedules and performs dam saftey inspections.
Nicholas.Brustin@vermont.gov 802-505-0038
Water Infrastructure Financing Programs
Engineering Section
Jeff Fehrs, PE - Engineering Program Manager, CWSRF Program Manager
Jeff.Fehrs@vermont.gov 802-798-2094
Roger Bergeron - Chief Construction Engineer
Mentors construction engineers. Reviews Step III engineering scopes of service, final design plans and specifications for bidability and constructability for projects funded by CWSRF and DWSRF, monitors DBE efforts, Davis-Bacon pay requirements, and AIS requirements, attends monthly project meetings, bid openings, and project milestones.
Roger.Bergeron@vermont.gov 802-760-8135
Cynthia Parks, PE - Construction Engineer
Reviews Step III engineering scopes of service, final design plans and specifications for bidability and constructability for projects funded by CWSRF and DWSRF, monitors DBE efforts, Davis-Bacon pay requirements, and AIS requirements, attends monthly project meetings, bid openings, and project milestones.
Cynthia.Parks@Vermont.gov 802-585-4913
Lynnette Claudon, PE - Chief Pollution Control Design Engineer
Reviews engineering scopes of service, preliminary engineering reports, environmental information documents, and final design plans and specifications for projects funded by the Clean Water State Revolving Fund, Vermont Pollution Control Grants, select Clean Water Initiative Grants, and performs NEPA-like environmental review and pollution control design assistance. Vermont Clean Watersheds Needs Survey Coordinator. Engineering Planning Advance Project Lead, performs outreach and technical assistance to unsewered communities.  FED Website Administrator. Division Records Liaison back up.
Lynnette.Claudon@vermont.gov 802-490-6226
Donald Haddox - Construction Engineer
Reviews Step III engineering scopes of service, final design plans and specifications for bidability and constructability for projects funded by CWSRF and DWSRF, monitors DBE efforts, Davis-Bacon pay requirements, and AIS requirements, attends monthly project meetings, bid openings, and project milestones.
Don.Haddox@vermont.gov 802-760-0370
Vacant - Pollution Control Design Engineer
Reviews engineering scopes of service, preliminary engineering reports, environmental information documents, and final design plans and specifications for projects funded by the Clean Water State Revolving Fund and performs NEPA environmental review and pollution control design assistance.
   
Financial Management and Loan Section
Terisa Thomas - Financial and Loan Programs Manager
 
Terisa.Thomas@vermont.gov 802-249-2413
Tom Brown - CWSRF Program Lead
CWSRF project priority list development, adoption, and modification. Receives and processes clean water planning, design and construction loan applications and applications for municipal water pollution control grants. Coordinates engineering service agreement reviews and provides technical, managerial, and financial capacity assistance to loan and grant recipients. Provide outreach, training, and marketing services for the Water Infrastructure Financing Programs.
Thomas.Brown@vermont.gov
anr.cwsrfplist@vermont.gov
802-622-4205
Bob Fitch - Financial Manager
Completes project close out audits. Audits loan accounts. Performs spot-check audits on all loan program activities.
Robert.Fitch@vermont.gov 802-622-4397
Celia Riechel - DWSRF Program Lead & WISPr Project Lead
Responsible for the DWSRF project priority list development, adoption, and modification. Receives and processes drinking water planning, design and construction loan applications and planning loan forgiveness determinations. Performs drinking water environmental reviews and manages archaeology service contract. Coordinates engineering service agreement reviews and performs loan related technical, managerial, financial capacity evaluations. Provide outreach, training, and marketing services for the Water Infrastructure Financing Programs. Manages Water Infrastructure Sponsorship Program (WISPr) project development.

Celia.Riechel@vermont.gov
anr.dwsrfplist@vermont.gov 
anr.wispr@vermont.gov

802-585-4904
M. Mercedes Pinon - Financial Administrator
Generates loan documents and loan repayment schedules, processes reimbursement requests for CL & DW SRF loans, as well as WPL loans, and VT Grants. Performs program accounting, completes project close out audits, and updates and edits web site.
Mercedes.Pinon@vermont.gov
ANR.SRFPayments@vermont.gov
802-490-6222
Chris Rottler - On-site Loan Program Lead, Grants Management Specialist and Federal Compliance
Provides direct assistance to loan applicants who apply and receive funding assistance through the Onsite Loan Program. Manages Division grants, including RFPs, contract drafting, and invoice processing. Serves as the federal reporting contact (AIS, Davis-Bacon, DBE) for the SRF program. Assists the DWSRF and CWSRF in processing loan applications. Provides outreach, training, and marketing services for the Water Infrastructure Financing Programs. Division Records Liaison.
Chris.Rottler@vermont.gov 802-461-6051
Julia Stone - Financial Manager
Generates loan documents and loan repayment schedules, performs program accounting, completes project close out audits.
Julia.Stone@vermont.gov 802-622-4149
Water Infrastructure Planning and Pollution Accounting Program
Tactical Basin Planning District Map
Ethan Swift - Program Manager
Management of the Monitoring, Assessment and Planning Program. Expertise areas include monitoring program design, statewide and local water quality assessment, the Surface Water Management Strategy and Tactical Planning, and Water Quality Standards.
ethan.swift@vermont.gov 802-490-6141
Angela Allen - Watershed Coordinator
Rutland Office
Job Description: Watershed planning and watershed restoration projects in the Poultney Mettowee watershed, Otter Creek watershed, and Battenkill-Hoosic-Walloomsac watershed.
angie.allen@vermont.gov 802-490-9081
Karen Bates - Watershed Coordinator
Essex Office
Watershed planning and watershed restoration projects in the Winooski River Basin and the northern Lake Champlain watershed.
karen.bates@vermont.gov 802-490-6144
Marie Levesque Caduto - Watershed Coordinator
Springfield Office
Watershed planning and watershed restoration projects in the West, Williams and Saxtons Rivers, the Ottauquechee and Black Rivers, the Deerfield River and the Lower Connecticut River.
marie.caduto@vermont.gov 802-289-0633
Ben Copans - Watershed Coordinator
St. Johnsbury Office (802-751-2610)
Watershed planning and watershed restoration projects in the Passumpsic River Watershed, the Upper Connecticut River Watershed and the Lake Memphremagog Watershed.
ben.copans@vermont.gov 802-490-6143
Phillip Jones - Environmental Modeler
Focused on the statistical and geospatial analysis of data relating to surface water quality, hydrology , aquatic ecology and watershed management.
phillip.jones@vermont.gov 802-490-8006
Danielle Owczarski - Watershed Coordinator
Watershed planning and watershed restoration projects in the Lamoille River Watershed, the White River Watershed, and the Stevens, Wells, Waits, Ompompanoosuc Watershed.
danielle.owczarski@vermont.gov 802-490-6176