Local Solid Waste Management Districts, Alliances, and Towns

Find your local waste management authority. 

Solid waste management entities (SWMEs) are small governing bodies that make decisions on how waste is managed on a local or regional level. They are the local authorities that  provide information to residents, businesses, and waste haulers about local disposal, recycling, and composting options; fees; local policies; and assistance with waste reduction questions.  Some SWMEs operate drop-off facilities and transfer stations, or offer waste hauling services to its members, but offering services is not required. All SWMEs can share information about private hauling services and drop-off centers available in its area.

View a map of Vermont's Solid Waste Management Entities

Select your town to locate your SWME information below, visit their website to learn more:


Addison County Solid Waste Management District
ACSWMD logo http://www.addisoncountyrecycles.org
Addison, Bridport, Bristol, Cornwall, Ferrisburgh, Goshen, Leicester, Lincoln, Middlebury, Monkton, New Haven, Orwell, Panton, Ripton, Shoreham, Starksboro, Vergennes, Waltham, Weybridge, and Whiting
Town of Barton
Contact the Town Clerk


Bennington County Solid Waste Alliance
BCSWA http://www.bcswavt.org
Arlington, Bennington, Dorset, Glastenbury, Manchester, Pownal, Rupert, Sandgate, Searsburg, Shaftsbury, Stamford, Sunderland, and Woodford
Town of Burke
Contact the Town Clerk http://burkevermont.org
Town of Canaan
Contact the Town Clerk


Central Vermont Solid Waste Management District
CVSWMD logo http://www.cvswmd.org
Barre City, Barre Town, Berlin, Bradford, Calais, Chelsea, Duxbury, East Montpelier, Fairlee, Hardwick, Middlesex, Montpelier, Orange, Plainfield, Tunbridge, Walden, Washington, Williamstown, Woodbury
Chittenden Solid Waste District
CSWD logo http://cswd.net
Bolton, Buels Gore, Burlington, Charlotte, Colchester, Essex, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Milton, Richmond, St. George, Shelburne, South Burlington, Underhill, Westford, Williston, Winooski
Town of Coventry
Contact the Town Clerk PO Box 101
168 Main Street
Coventry, VT 05825
(802) 754-2288
Town of Fairfax
Contact the Town Clerk http://www.fairfax-vt.gov
Greater Upper Valley Solid Waste Management District
GUVSMD Logo http://www.guvswd.org
Bridgewater, Hartland, Norwich, Pomfret, Sharon, Strafford, Thetford, Veshire, West Fairlee, Woodstock
Town of Hartford
Contact the Town Clerk http://www.hartford-vt.org
Lamoille Regional Solid Waste Management District
Lamoille SWMD logo http://www.lrswmd.org
Belvidere, Cambridge, Craftsbury, Eden, Elmore, Hyde Park, Johnson, Morristown, Stowe, Waterville, Wolcott, Worcester
Town of Lemington
Contact the Town Clerk 2549 River Road
Lemington, VT 05903
(802) 277-4814
Londonderry Group
Londonderry waste district logo http://londonderryvt.org/recycletransfer
Landgrove, Londonderry, Peru, Weston, Windham
Town of Lowell
Contact the Town Clerk 2170 VT Route 100
Lowell, VT 05847
(802) 744-6559
Mad River Resource Management Alliance
MRRMA logo http://www.madriverrma.org
Fayston, Moretown, Roxbury, Waitsfield, Warren, Waterbury
City of Newport
Contact the City Manager http://www.newportvermont.org
Northeast Kingdom Waste Management District
NEKWMD logo http://www.nekwmd.org
Albany, Averill, Averys Gore, Barnet, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Cabot, Charleston, Concord, Corinth, Danville, Derby, East Haven, Ferdinand, Glover, Granby, Greensboro, Groton, Guildhall, Holland, Irasburg, Jay, Kirby, Lewis, Lunenburg, Lyndon, Maidstone, Marshfield, Morgan, Newark, Newbury, Newport Town, Norton, Peacham, Ryegate, Sheffield, Stannard, Sutton, Topsham, Troy, Victory, Waterford, Warren Gore, Warners Grant, Westfield, Westmore, Wheelock
Northwest Vermont Solid Waste Management District
NWSWD logo http://nwswd.org
Alburg, Bakersfield, Berkshire, Enosburg, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Grand Isle, Highgate, Isle LaMotte, Montgomery, North Hero, Richford, St. Albans City, St. Albans Town, Sheldon, South Hero, Swanton
Rutland County Solid Waste District
RCSWD logo http://www.rcswd.com
Brandon, Castleton, Clarendon, Danby, Hubbardton, Ira, Killington, Mendon, Mt. Holly, Mt. Tabor, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland City, Wallingford, Wells, West Rutland
Town of Saint Johnsbury
Contact the Town Manager http://stjvt.com
Town of Salisbury
Contact the Town Clerk https://www.townofsalisbury.org
Solid Waste Alliance Communities
SWAC logo http://rutlandcountyswac.org
Benson, Chittenden, Fair Haven, Middletown Springs, Pawlet, Rutland, Shrewsbury, Sudbury, Tinmouth, West Haven
Southern Windsor/Windham Counties Solid Waste Management District
SWWCSWMD logo http://www.vtsolidwastedistrict.org
Andover, Athens, Baltimore, Cavendish, Chester, Grafton, Ludlow, Plymouth, Reading, Rockingham, Springfield, Weathersfield, West Windsor, Windsor
Mountain Alliance - Town of Randolph
MA logo manager@municipaloffice.randolph.vt.us
Braintree, Brookfield, Northfield, Randolph
White River Alliance - Town of Bethel
WRA logo Keith O. Arlund, Administrator
RR 1 Box 335
Bethel, VT 05032
(802) 234-9340
Barnard, Bethel, Granville, Hancock, Pittsfield, Rochester, Royalton, Stockbridge
Windham Solid Waste Management District
WSWMD logo http://www.windhamsolidwaste.org
Brattleboro, Brookline, Dover, Dummerston, Guilford, Halifax, Jamaica, Marlboro, Newfane, Putney, Readsboro, Somerset, Stratton, Townshend, Vernon, Wardsboro, Westminster, Whitingham, Wilmington
Town of Winhall
Contact the Town of Winhall www.winhall.org

Agency of Natural Resources
Department of Environmental Conservation
Waste Management and Prevention Division

Davis Building - 1st Floor
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704