Waste Management and Prevention Division Contact Information

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Waste Management and Prevention Division
Davis Building - 1st Floor
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704
During  Office hours (M-F 7:45am – 4:30pm EST):  Telephone: 802-828-1138
24-Hour HAZMAT HOTLINE:                                800-641-5005
Report a Spill
Jump to a Waste Management Division Program:
Waste Management Division Contact Information
Name, Position and Brief Job Description Email Address Phone
Charles (Chuck) Schwer - Director
 
chuck.schwer@vermont.gov 802-249-5324
Wendy Anderson - Administrative Assistant
 
wendy.anderson@vermont.gov 802-522-0202
Jordan Gonda - Legal Counsel
 
jordan.gonda@vermont.gov 802-338-7522
Kristin Davis - PCF Administrator & AST Financial Assistance
 
kristin.davis@vermont.gov 802-522-0071
Cheryl Hamilton - Environmental Technician
 
cheryl.hamilton@vermont.gov 802-522-5949
Residual Waste & Emerging Contaminants Program
Ernie Kelley - Program Manager
Discharging Treatment Facilities, Operations & Management and Residuals Management.
ernie.kelley@vermont.gov 802-490-6187
Hazardous Waste Management Program
Marc Roy - Section Chief
 
marc.roy@vermont.gov 802-522-0275
Anna Bourakovsky

Compliance Inspections

anna.bourakovsky@vermont.gov 802-477-2981
Vince Chiorgno

Manifests
Site ID Forms
Biennial Reporting

vincent.chiorgno@vermont.gov 802-522-0245
Cindy Grimes

Compliance Inspections
Facility and Emergency Permitting

cindy.grimes@vermont.gov 802-522-0307
Linda Joyal

Manifests
Site ID Forms
Generator Fees
Hazardous Waste Taxes
Hazardous Waste Transporter Permitting

linda.joyal@vermont.gov 802-522-0261
Steve Simoes

Facility Permitting
Regulatory Interpretation
Spill Program Member

steve.simoes@vermont.gov 802-522-0386
Michael Nucci

Compliance Inspections
Facility and Emergency Permitting
Spill Program Member

michael.nucci@vermont.gov 802-522-0287
Sites Management Section and Brownfields Response Program
Matt Moran - Environmental Program Manager
Sites Management Section Program Manager; PCF Administrator
matt.moran@vermont.gov 802-522-5729
James Donaldson
Hazardous site manager, spill program member
james.donaldson@vermont.gov 802-477-2632
Linda Elliott
Hazardous site manager
linda.elliott@vermont.gov 802-249-5479
Gerold Noyes
Hazardous site manager
gerold.noyes@vermont.gov 802-522-5614
John Schmeltzer
Hazardous site manager
john.schmeltzer@vermont.gov 802-249-5620
Richard Spiese
Hazardous site manager, spill program member
richard.spiese@vermont.gov 802-249-5083
Tami Wuestenberg
Hazardous site manager
tami.wuestenberg@vermont.gov 802-249-5186
Michael Nahmias
Hazardous site manager
michael.nahmias@vermont.gov 802-522-4595
Patricia Coppolino - Environmental Program Manager
Sites Management Section Program Manager; Brownfields Administrator
patricia.coppolino@vermont.gov 802-249-5822
Hugo Martinez Cazon
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
hugo.martinez.cazon@vermont.gov 802-522-5564
Lynda Provencher
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
lynda.provencher@vermont.gov 802-249-5562
Michael Smith
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
michael.b.smith@vermont.gov 802-249-5826
Sarah Bartlett
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
sarah.bartlett@vermont.gov 802-249-5641
Matthew Becker
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
matthew.becker@vermont.gov 802-249-5770
Kristi Herzer
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
kristi.herzer@vermont.gov 802-461-6918
Kimberly Caldwell
Hazardous site manager & Brownfields program
kimberly.caldwell@vermont.gov 802-461-5857
Solid Waste Management Program
Cathy Jamieson - Solid Waste Program Manager
Oversees the Solid Waste Management Program, consisting of the following sections: Certification, Compliance and Materials Management. Focus areas: Legislative, policy and implementation strategies.
cathy.jamieson@vermont.gov 802-522-5938
Dennis Fekert - Certification Section Chief
Responsibilities include oversight of permitting and technical staff. Focus areas: facility certifications.
dennis.fekert@vermont.gov 802-522-0195
Jeff Bourdeau
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: Contaminated soils, debris, NEWS VT landfill in Coventry, and transfer station permits.
jeff.bourdeau@vermont.gov 802-522-0131
Ben Gauthier
Responsibilities include permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: composting, food scraps, landfills, Solid Waste facility permitting (HHW, compost and anaerobic digestion, compost technical assistance), and website updates.
benjamin.gauthier@vermont.gov 802-522-5080
Kasey Kathan
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work and special projects. Additional responsibilities include hydrogeologic review, and closed landfills. Focus areas: Closed landfill oversight, ReTrac questions, solid waste facilities permitting, water quality at solid waste facilities.
kasey.kathan@vermont.gov 802-522-0561
Debra Pierce
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Additional responsibilities include: engineering review and regulated medical waste. Focus areas: Construction at solid waste facilities, medical waste (regulated).
debra.pierce@vermont.gov 802-522-5974
James (Buzz) Surwilo
Responsibilities include: permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects. Focus areas: Act 175 (architectural waste), Act 250 (collection, aggregation, & temporary storage of solid waste to be transferred to a certified transfer station), asbestos, asphalt shingles, Construction & Demolition (C&D) waste (i.e. drywall, asphalt shingles, clean wood, etc.), road base cover, and tires.
james.surwilo@vermont.gov 802-522-5056
Barb Schwendtner - Compliance Section Chief
Responsibilities include: assuring all facilities and general public comply with Solid Waste Management Rules, statutes, permits and certifications. Conducts inspections, prepares enforcement referrals, and receives and responds to complaints.  Reviews clean-up plans for illegal dumps. Focus areas: Solid waste facility and hauler compliance and enforcement.
barb.schwendtner@vermont.gov 802-249-5904
Aric Brown
Responsibilities include assisting in public compliance with solid waste management rules and statutes, field work, enforcement involvement, and responding to complaints. Focus areas: Compliance with certifications of facilities and haulers; enforcing VT Solid Waste Management Rules.
aric.brown@vermont.gov 802-461-5759
Josh Kelly - Materials Management Section Chief
Responsibilities include: oversight of Universal Recycling law implementation, Vermont E-Cycles and other EPR programs. Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), composting and anaerobic digestion, and unit based pricing (pay as you throw).
josh.kelly@vermont.gov 802-522-5897
Rebecca Webber
Responsibilities include: data management, website work, development and design of materials for Universal Recycling implementation.Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), recycling, ReTrac, and data.
rebecca.webber@vermont.gov 802-522-3658
Karen Knaebel
Responsibilities include E-Cycles Program: oversight of the State Standard Program, working with contractor for collection and pick-up of discarded electronics. Mercury program: manufacturer requirements, EPR lamp and thermostat programs, and dental mercury. Focus areas: E-Cycles Program, and mercury take-back programs.
karen.knaebel@vermont.gov 802-522-5736
John Fay
Responsibilities include: E-Cycles Program, oversight of manufacturer Opt-Out Program, manufacturer and service provider registrations, reporting, invoicing, product determinations, and database management. Focus areas: E-Cycles Program.
john.fay@vermont.gov 802-522-5771
Bryn Oakleaf
Responsibilities include: development and implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan (MMP), research and report writing for policy and legislative analysis, grants and contracts project manager, Food Recovery Hierarchy - waste reduction and food rescue, beverage container law issues, general and sector specific education and outreach, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling law (Act 148), food waste reduction and food rescue, Materials Management Plan (MMP), beverage container law (redemption centers, product registrations, policy) and recycling.
bryn.oakleaf@vermont.gov 802-522-5783
Celia Riechel
Responsibilities include: implementation of the State’s Materials Management Plan, policy analysis, and special projects. Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), business and institution outreach, organics diversion, technical assistance.
celia.riechel@vermont.gov 802-477-2669
Mia Roethlein
Responsibilities include: implementation of State Materials Management Plan, policy analysis, and special projects. Additional work addresses household hazardous waste, Solid Waste Implementation Plan (SWIP) review, and implementation of paint and battery stewardship programs. Focus areas: Universal Recycling (Act 148), SWIPs, household hazardous waste management and state wide network meetings, paint and battery stewardship programs, and recycling.
mia.roethlein@vermont.gov 802-522-5926
Technical Services, Storage Tanks & Salvage Yards
Marc Roy - Section Chief
 
marc.roy@vermont.gov 802-522-0275
Shawn Donovan
Salvage Yard Program Coordinator. Responsibilities include inspections of permitted facilities, permit writing, technical review, field work, and special projects.
shawn.donovan@vermont.gov 802-522-5683
Ted Unkles - Supervisor
Program Coordinator, Inspections, Compliance Issue, UST Regulations, Operator Training, Liaison with EPA, Spill Program Member.
ted.unkles@vermont.gov 802-522-0488
Jaymi Cleland
Underground Storage Tank (UST) Compliance, Closure, Install, and Hazardous Material Spill Reporting, Spill Program Member.
jaymi.cleland@vermont.gov 802-917-1386
June Reilly
Permitting, Financial Responsibility, UST Loans (not grants), Operator Training, Monitoring Compliance, Heating Oil Tank Registration, Change of Ownership.
june.reilly@vermont.gov 802-522-0231
Sue Thayer
Underground Storage Tank(UST) compliance inspection at permitted facilities, UST removal report review, Residential UST Home Heating Oil Grant.
susan.thayer@vermont.gov 802-522-0487
Spill Team
Click here for numbers to call to report a spill.
Tim Cropley - Program Manager
Spill program manager, underground storage tank inspector, hazardous sites manager
tim.cropley@vermont.gov 802-249-5346
Richard Spiese
Spill Program Member
richard.spiese@vermont.gov 802-249-5083
Ted Unkles
Spill Program Member
ted.unkles@vermont.gov 802-522-0488
Jaymi Cleland
Spill Program Member
jaymi.cleland@vermont.gov 802-917-1386
James Donaldson
Spill Program Member
james.donaldson@vermont.gov 802-477-2632
Steve Simoes
Spill Program Member
steve.simoes@vermont.gov 802-522-0386
Michael Nucci
Spill Program Member
michael.nucci@vermont.gov 802-522-0287
Shawn Donovan
Spill Program Member
shawn.donovan@vermont.gov 802-522-5683

Agency of Natural Resources
Department of Environmental Conservation
Waste Management and Prevention Division

Davis Building - 1st Floor
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-3704
802-828-1138