

**Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation** 

Watershed Management Division Main Building, Second Floor One National Life Drive Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 Agency of Natural Resources

[phone] 802-828-1535

December 5, 2012

Town of Jericho Selectboard C/o Town Administrator Todd Odit P.O. Box 39 Jericho, VT 05465

Re: Stormwater MS4 Permit Waiver

Dear Mr. Odit,

The Agency of Natural Resources has issued the new Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) permit for stormwater discharges from municipal storm sewer systems. The previous MS4 permit was issued in 2003 and the Town of Jericho was waived from being designated as a regulated MS4. The Agency has reviewed the original waiver criteria and has determined that the Town of Jericho will continue to be waived from automatic designation as a regulated MS4.

This waiver is based on the following findings: (1) that the municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) of the town outside of the VTrans controlled Route 15 right-of-way but within the 2000 and 2010 urban census designated areas does not serve a population of 1,000 people or more; (2) that the same MS4 does not contribute substantially to the pollutant loadings of the regulated VTrans MS4 and; (3) that the same MS4 does not discharge into any surface waters on the state's 303(d) list of impaired waters.

Please note that this waiver is conditional and will be reviewed once every five years to determine whether any information required for granting the waiver has changed. If you have any questions regarding the MS4 Program or any questions about this waiver, please contact Christy Witters at (802) 490-6173 or by email at christy.witters@state.vt.us.

Sincerely,

David K. Mears, Commissioner

Department of Environmental Conservation



**Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation** 

Watershed Management Division Main Building, Second Floor One National Life Drive Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 Agency of Natural Resources

[phone] 802-828-1535

December 5, 2012

Town of Underhill Selectboard C/o Town Administrator Dawna Brisson PO Box 32 Underhill Center, VT 05490

Re: Stormwater MS4 Permit Waiver

Dear Ms. Brisson,

The Agency of Natural Resources has issued the new Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) permit for stormwater discharges from municipal storm sewer systems. The previous MS4 permit was issued in 2003 and the Town of Underhill was waived from being designated as a regulated MS4. The Agency has reviewed the original waiver criteria and has determined that the Town of Underhill will continue to be waived from automatic designation as a regulated MS4.

This waiver is based on the following findings: (1) that the municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) of the town outside of the VTrans controlled Route 15 right-of-way but within the 2000 and 2010 urban census designated areas does not serve a population of 1,000 people or more; (2) that the same MS4 does not contribute substantially to the pollutant loadings of the regulated VTrans MS4 and; (3) that the same MS4 does not discharge into any surface waters on the state's 303(d) list of impaired waters.

Please note that this waiver is conditional and will be reviewed once every five years to determine whether any information required for granting the waiver has changed. If you have any questions regarding the MS4 Program or any questions about this waiver, please contact Christy Witters at (802) 490-6173 or by email at christy.witters@state.vt.us.

Sincerely,

David K. Mears, Commissioner

Department of Environmental Conservation