Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations

- ◆ The transport of all aquatic plants, plant parts, or other aquatic invasive species (i.e. zebra mussels, spiny water flea) to or from any Vermont surface water is illegal.
- Prior to transporting or launching a vessel to or from a waterbody, inspect the vessel, trailer, vehicle, equipment, etc. to remove and dispose of ANY plant or plant parts.
- All vessels, trailers, and transport vehicles must be inspected and decontaminated if a boat washing station is present, staffed, and an inspector deems decontamination is necessary.
- Prior to leaving a boat ramp the vessel, trailer, live wells, and bilge tanks must be drained and drain plugs must remain out during transportation.
- For more information go to the VT DEC AIS webpage at dec.vermont.gov/watershed/lakes-ponds/aquatic-invasives

Any person who violates this law may be subject to a fine of up to \$1,000 per violation.



Boating Resources

VT Fish and Wildlife Department www.vtfishandwildlife.com

General Information (802) 828-1000 Licensing (802) 828-1190 Law Enforcement (802) 828-1529

VT Dept. of Environmental Conservation dec.vermont.gov

General Information (802) 828-1556 Aquatic Invasive Species (802) 828-1535

VT Dept. of Forests, Parks and Recreation fpr.vermont.gov

State Park Information (888) 409-7579

VT State Police - Marine Division vsp.vermont.gov

Boating Law Information (802) 244-8727

VT Dept. of Motor Vehicles/Boat License dmv.vermont.gov

General Information (802) 828-2000

Boating Safety Checklist

- ✓ Weather conditions safe for boating
- ✓ Map of boating location & known hazards
- ✓ Informed of rules for a given waterbody
- ✓ Access area signage reviewed for updates
- ✓ Valid registration stickers and cards
- ✓ US Coast Guard (USCG) approved PFD onboard for each person
- ✓ Properly working safety equipment including; USCG approved fire extinguisher, throwable device, horn, whistle, and/or bell

Vermont Boating Resource Guide



Safely Boating in Vermont Waters







Boating Safely on Vermont Waters

The number and variety of recreational uses on Vermont waters can sometimes lead to conflict. Learning and following the rules allows everyone to safely enjoy time in and on the water.



Boating Etiquette

- When launching and transporting your boat, keep the launch or travel lanes open
- ♦ Maximize parking at all times
- Operate watercraft in a careful and responsible manner
- Use caution when in populated areas and stay right when meeting other boats
- ♦ Always respect private property
- Regularly maintain your boat for your safety and to prevent gas and oil spills
- ♦ Clean, drain, and dry your boat before entering and after exiting the water

A Splash of Vermont Boating Regulations

Local, State, and Federal Restrictions apply to all waterways in Vermont. Prior to boating, check with the appropriate officials to become aware of the regulations for the waterbody you are visiting to keep you and others safe. At state launches, pertinent laws will be posted on the kiosk.

Vermont Boating Regulations

- ♣ A US Coast Guard (USCG) approved Personal Floatation Device (PFD) must be onboard for each occupant
- ♦ Vessels shall be operated at a no wake speed (or 5 mph) within 200' of the shore
- Vessels may not be operated faster than 5 mph within 200' of people, wildlife, other watercraft, docks, or swimming areas
- ♣ Anyone towed by a boat must wear a USCG approved PFD and the boat must have a spotter over the age of 12
- ♣ All navigational rules when encountering other vessels must be followed
- ♣ Trash and any potentially hazardous materials must be disposed of properly
- ✦ Make sure you have the appropriate safety gear to comply with your Vessel's Length Class

For more information, please refer to the

VT Boating Laws & Regulation Handbook

Fishing in Vermont

Vermont has a wide range of spectacular and scenic locations on the water to provide anglers with unforgettable experiences. For information on fishing opportunities and the diversity of species within local waters, go to:

Vermont Master Angler Website www.vtfishandwildlife.com/masterAngler

Fishing Regulations in Vermont

- ◆ Fishing seasons and limits vary among species and waterbody. Check the current issue of *Vermont's Fishing Guide and Regulations* for up to date information
 - www.eregulations.com/vermont/fishing
- ♦ Be sure to note any new regulations. They will be listed with special headers in Vermont's Fishing Guide and Regulations
- ◆ Licenses can be purchased over the phone, online, or at a participating retailer

