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Due to a provision in the Energy Policy Act of 2005, 
Vermont, as with all states, is required to perform com-
pliance inspections for each Category I UST facility once 
every 3 years.  Vermont currently has 1049 Category 
One UST Facilities and must complete roughly 350 UST facility inspections annually.  

What does this mean to you?  If your facility was last inspected in 2007, then 
most likely you are due for another inspection.  

In addition to these federally mandated UST facility inspections, Vermont also con-
ducts 100 random inspections to track and compare facility compliance with the self 
certification filed.  So even if you just had an inspection last year, it is possible that 
your facility may still be inspected.   

How do you determine whether or not your facility will be inspected this 
year?  You can go to the State of Vermont UST Program website at http://
www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/wastediv/ust/home.htm 

Look in “What’s New?”  box in the top right hand corner of the page.  You will be able 
to view the list of facilities to be inspected in 2010 by Facility ID, Facility Name, 
County, or Town.  

How do I prepare my facility for an inspection?  Make sure you are doing the 
right things way before you are due for a facility inspection.  Here are the most fre-
quent violations encountered: 

-Incompatible overfill devices – A lot of tank owners have overfill devices that are 
ineffective with their type of tank system, the method of delivery, or their type of 
Stage I vapor recovery.  (See overfill equipment compatibility chart below.)  
Contact the UST Program or your qualified UST contractor to determine if your device 
is compatible and get it replaced! 

Here’s to a trouble free  

inspection season! 
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-Not conducting leak detection– This is one of the 
most serious violations.    

-No documentation of leak detection– You are 
required to maintain at least three years worth of 
weekly leak detection documentation for your tanks 
and secondarily contained piping.  Whether you 
manually check it, have an in-tank monitor, or liquid 
sensors you are required to document!  Inventory is 
not leak detection documentation! 

-Leaking spill buckets– If your spill bucket doesn’t 
hold liquid then you must replace it. If your spill 
bucket is susceptible to failure  it is a good idea to 
replace them before a release occurs!   

Peddle Truck 
(Pressurized)

Tanker 
(Gravity 
Drop)

Air Tight 
(Gravity 
Drop)

Loose 
(Stinger)

Straight 
Remote   

(Not 
Recommended)

Pressurized Suction
Supply 
and 

Return
 Two Point Coaxial

Electronic Alarm √ √ √ √ √ √ √ √ √ √ √
Vent Whistle √ √ √  X* √ √ √ √ √ √ √
Auto Shut off Drop Tube X √ √ X √ X √ √ √ √ √
Ball Float X √ √ X √ X √ X X √ X

* A vent whistle will work with a stinger if the stinger is equipped to create a snug fit inside the fill pipe

Vapor Recovery

Compatible Uses for Overfill Prevention Devices 

Overfill Device

Delivery Method Fill Connection Fill Pipe Pump Type

The Petroleum Cleanup Fund’s Rocky Ride 

In 2010, the Petroleum Cleanup Fund (PCF) began its 23rd year of providing UST owners with financial responsibility as required 
by federal and state law.  Revenue is generated to support this program by an annual tank assessment fee of $100 per tank paid for 
by Vermont category one UST owners, and by a cent per gallon on motor fuel and a ½ cent per gallon on heating fuel.  The funds 
collected over the years have allowed for the remediation of petroleum releases from motor fuel USTs and also for commercial and 
residential UST and AST heating fuel releases.   After many years of financial success and stability, the PCF began 2010 in trouble. 

We started fiscal year ‘09 in fine shape; the PCF had a balance of $7.4 million.  But how quickly things changed.  First, in Septem-
ber 2009, a transfer of $2.8 million from the PCF to the General Fund was completed as authorized by Act 192 of the 2009 Ver-
mont legislature.  At the same time the number and magnitude of releases from heating oil sources were on a rise and older UST 
motor fuel sites were being aggressively remediated to meet EPA initiatives to cleanup back logged sites.  All this was happening 
as our economy was declining along with PCF receipts.  By January 1, 2010, the PCF fund balance was down to $1.7 million.  With 
anticipated claims exceeding projected revenues, the PCF looked to be in jeopardy of falling below the EPA mandated $1 M re-
serve. 

A number of steps were taken in January to curtail the downward spiral of the fund.  The residential grant program which helps 
fund the removal of residential underground and aboveground heating oil tanks was suspended.  Payments for heating fuel cleanups 
were put on hold.   The cleanup of backlogged motor fuel UST sites was prioritized with only the highest priority sites authorized 
for cleanup.  Along with these steps, the Petroleum Cleanup Fund Advisory Committee was working with the Legislature to find 
both short and long term solutions. 

The FY10 Budget Adjustment Act passed by both the House and Senate included a transfer of $750,000 back into the PCF.  This 
has helped to shore up the fund and has allowed for the continuation of heating oil cleanups and reimbursements.  The Department 
of Children and Families, through the Weatherization Program, has provided the PCF with $50,000 to use for the residential grant 
program for qualifying applicants.  The 2010 legislature is also evaluating ways to provide more long term financial stability to the 
PCF.  This includes looking at an annual appropriation or an increase in the fee on heating fuels.  Hopefully the PCF will be on 
more solid ground in 2011. 

This could save you money and the headache of a poten-
tial environmental assessment down the road.  Spill 
bucket replacements are required to be at least 15 gallons 
in capacity.   

-Leaking dispensers that don’t have containment 
sumps– Dispenser weeps and drips are more common 
than you think.  Failed seals and gaskets and loose fitting 
are usually the culprits.  If your dispenser is discovered to 
be leaking during an inspection you most likely will be re-
quired to investigate the extent of soil contamination via a 
costly environmental assessment.  To avoid this, it is rec-
ommended that the inside of your dispenser be checked 
frequently for weeps and drips.  Please also remember any 
dispenser installed after August 1, 2007 is required to 1) 
have a dispenser sump and 2) be monitored for leaks and 
documented.    
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O ver the next three years Vermont 
will be phasing out Stage II vapor 

recovery controls at gasoline facilities . This is 
because the vast majority of gasoline powered 
motor vehicles since the 2006 model year or ear-
lier have on-board vapor recovery (ORVR). Since  
most of the vehicles on the road are equipped 
with ORVR, Stage II vapor recovery can be dis-
continued without a significant impact on emis-
sions.    

 

 

In  2009, the Legislature passed a new law 
mandating the phase-out of Stage II. In ad-
dition to establishing a general phase-out 
date for Stage II vapor recovery, the law 
also defines the circumstances under which 
a facility may qualify to cease using Stage 
II controls prior to the general phase-out 
date.  

 

The most significant provisions of the law (10 
V.S.A. §583) are: 

1. Comprehensive Phase-Out Date - As of Janu-
ary 1, 2013, the Stage II vapor recovery regu-
lations are repealed, and any facility equipped 
with a Stage II system can discontinue its use. 

2. Early Phase-Out - Facilities that meet the fol-
lowing two criteria can be exempt from the 
Stage II regulation prior to January 1, 2013: 

a. Facilities that undergo significant excava-
tion involving a portion of the Stage II sys-
tem or where underground components of 
the Stage II system would have to be re-
placed may be exempt from the Stage II 
regulation. If you believe this exemption 
might apply to your facility, you will need 
to fill out a Gasoline Dispensing Facility Ex-
cavation Checklist, available from the Air 
Pollution Control Division (APCD) and on 
the web at http://www.anr.state.vt.us/air/
Compliance/htm/Gasoline.htm. 

Stage II Vapor Recovery Being Phased-Out   

b. Facilities that replace existing gasoline dis-
pensers with gasoline dispensers that sup-
port triple data encryption standard 
(TDES) usage to comply with Payment 
Card Industry standards are exempt from 
the Stage II regulation. If this situation 
applies to your facility you will need to pro-
vide the APCD with documentation that the 
dispensers are equipped for TDES. 

In both of the above situations, you need to get 
the approval of the APCD before discontinuing the 
use of your Stage II vapor recovery system.  

The law also defines several situations where 
Stage II controls don't need to be newly installed: 

1. A newly constructed facility that begins opera-
tion after May 1, 2009 is not required to install 
Stage II regardless of how much gasoline it 
pumps. 

2. An existing facility that experiences an in-
crease in the volume of gasoline pumped such 
that it pumps 400,000 gallons or more for the 
first time beginning with the 2009 calendar 
year does not need to install Stage II. 

 

 

The law also requires that once use of Stage 
II controls has been discontinued the owner 
must “decommission” the system, including 
below-ground components, according to 
methods approved by the Agency.  

 

 

The Agency is currently developing the methods 
to properly decommission a Stage II system and 
when completed will make this information avail-
able to facility owners and contractors.   

 
For a more detailed explanation of the phase-out 
of Stage II vapor recovery, refer to the APCD 
website at http://www.anr.state.vt.us/air/
Compliance/htm/Gasoline.htm or contact Dave 
Shepard at 241-3857 or 
dave.shepard@state.vt.us. 



 

UST staffer, June Reilly, takes a month vacation to visit friends and family in Australia and look what   
happened - the self-certification application causes computer problems  all over the Agency of Natural 
Resources.   The solution was to close the application down.  It will be back for 2010, but not in the 
same format.   

For those of you who had done your self certification or had partially done it, hooray, it was accepted as 
done.  Those who had not started the self-cert were told to file a paper copy by February 2, 2010.   We 
extended the due date to February 10.    If you have not completed and mailed it in upon receipt of this 
newsletter then you are done for 2009 but not forgotten.   At the next facility inspection if any violation 
is found, the failure to self- certify will be added as a violation and may add to penalties assessed.   The 
UST Program has prided itself over the years on treating tank owners equally and permittees are        
required to do an annual self-certification.   The early bird in this case really did catch the worm! 

Staff (mostly June because she missed all the phone calls) has been reviewing the paper certifications 
and the sad news is that more owners than we like to admit to still don’t seem to know what they have 
buried in the ground or know what equipment they have. But they do seem to be doing their leak detec-

tion monitoring and have the documentation.   What is the solution?   It is 
already in the works --  UST Operator Training.     

As for Australia, June loved it.  She had one experience of a kangaroo    
running in front of the propane propelled car. Her comment to her        
companions was “it makes a change to a deer.”  Propane cost around $2.20 
a gallon and gasoline was $4.80. About 50% of the cars were dual propane 
and gasoline for drivers to switch over to gasoline if propane was not    
available. 

2009 Self-certifications  
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