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FEE	INCREASES	

ANNUAL TANK ASSESSMENT 

The Vermont Legislature increased 
the annual tank assessment fee for 
three types of tank systems.  Begin-
ning with fiscal year 2013 (payment 
due October 1 2012) owners of single 
walled or combination tank systems 
will have to pay more.   For facilities 
that sell more than 40,000 gallons per 
month, the new assessments are: 
 
· $100 per double wall tank system; 
· $150 per combination tank system 
(single wall tank /double wall piping), 
and  
· $200 per single-wall tank system. 
 
For retail gasoline outlets that sell less 
than 40,000 gallons of motor fuel per 
month, the fee shall be:  
 
· $75 per double wall tank system; 
· $125 per combination tank system, 
and  
· $175 per single wall tank system.     
 
Assessment fees for retail motor fuel 
outlets selling 20,000 gallons or less 
per month are the same as for those 
selling less than 40,000 per month, 
but the assessment for double wall or 
combination tank systems  is capped 
at $300.   There is no cap for single 
walled tank systems. 
 
The assessment fees and the 1 penny 
licensing fee collected on each gallon 
of petroleum sold in Vermont is the 
funding source for the Vermont Petro-
leum Cleanup Fund. 
 

PERMIT FEE 

As of July 1, 2012, the annual     
PERMIT fee for each underground 
storage tank is increased by $25 to 
$125.  

 

THE SINGLE-WALLED TANKS SAGA:   

Have your tanks been passing the weekly tests? 

 

Today, most underground fuel storage tanks (USTs) in 
Vermont are double-walled tanks with an interstitial space 
that is either manually or electronically monitored for 
leaks.  Double-walled tanks provide a safety net to keep a leak out of the 
environment and protect public health and water supply systems.  However, 
there are still some older single-walled tanks that were installed before Sep-
tember of 1987.  With single-walled tanks, you are walking a tightrope with-
out a net—any leaks go straight into the environment.  This is why, if you 
have single-walled tanks, it is particularly crucial that you follow leak-
detection and monitoring requirements diligently.   If you own a regulated 
single walled tank it must have an electronic monitoring system.    

The State of Vermont UST Rules require that regulated single wall tanks have 
consistent, conclusive, and passing in-tank leak test results generated from 
your electronic monitoring system that are documented weekly.  During com-
pliance inspections it is common for the inspector to come across in-tank leak 
test results that indicate errors for several weeks or even months because the 
tanks didn’t have enough fuel for passing test results.  This is a serious viola-
tion.   

YOU MUST NOT IGNORE INVALID TEST RESULTS OR ERRORS!   In or-
der to consider a single walled tank not to be 
leaking; consistent, conclusive, and passing in-
tank monitoring test results must be achieved.  
Therefore, tanks must have enough fuel in the 
tank for the probe to conduct valid tests.  If you 
can not demonstrate that your tank is passing 
and all you have is invalid test results then an 
inspector may request that you have that tank 
tightness tested, which is extra cost to you as a 
tank owner. (Continued on next page.)  

 

With single-walled 
tanks, you are walk-
ing a tightrope with-
out a net—any leaks 
go straight into the 

environment. 
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Continued from page 1—THE SINGLE-WALLED 
TANKS SAGA:  

 

The high cost of fuel may be the reason for low 
fuel levels and in turn the reason for invalid in-tank 
leak tests or testing errors. Unfortunately the only 
approved method for leak detection for single 
walled tanks in the State of Vermont is in-tank leak 
testing.  If it is not possible for a tank owner to 
keep enough fuel in a single walled tank to ensure 
passing test results the tank owner must consider 
some hard decisions such as taking the tanks out 
of service, or permanently closing the tank by re-
moval.  You must notify the Vermont UST Program 
if you choose to take your tank out of service or 
remove it.    

If you choose to take your tanks out of service tem-
porarily then you must do the following:  

1. Empty your tanks down to less than 1 inch of fuel 
or residuals. (Contact your supplier to have this 
done.) 

2. Secure or lock fill ports and dispensing nozzles 
to discourage vandalism or accidental delivery.   

3. Post a sign or an indication that you are no long-
er dispensing fuel. 

4. Leave all vent lines open and protected (i.e. do 
not cut off, cap off, or damage vent lines.)  

Your tanks can remain out of service for one year.  
You may resume the use of the tank within that span 
of a year provided you retain a qualified tank con-
tractor to ensure the equipment is functioning 
properly.  Single walled tanks that are left out of ser-
vice for more than a year must be removed.   

Some other tips to ensure that your tanks are pass-
ing leak tests is to make sure your tests are conduct-
ed during an inactive quiet time of at least 5 hours 
and to make sure in-tank leak tests are programmed 
to be done daily not weekly.  If your single walled 
tanks are not passing their in-tank leak test consist-
ently then it must be reported to the Vermont UST 
Program.  If you have any questions about your sin-
gle wall tanks please call 802-241-3888 and ask for 
someone in the UST program to help you.   

 

 

OPERATOR TRAINING   

AUGUST 1, 2012 IS FAST APPROACHING 

 
For those of you who have access to the UST 
Program’s webpage, please review  
Training available for  

A and B Testing through International Code 
Council covers all system types (Registration 
for testing & sample test questions available at 

ICCsafe.org.) 

We now have over 10 owners who have com-
pleted the ICC test at the Pearson Vue location 
in South Burlington, VT.  The advice being giv-
en to those planning to take the ICC test is to 

do some reading on the rules, 
etc. since while the test is 

open book it is timed 
and you don’t want to 
eat that time thumb-
ing through the rules 
for an answer. 

Vermont has also approved the 
ECS Eclipse on-line training pro-
gram for class A and B operators. 
See the Vermont UST Program 
website for details. 

 
The Vermont UST Program now has available 
on line http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/
wastediv/ust/Training.htm website an A and 
B Test for tank owners who only have a simple 
suction dispensing system.   The training man-
ual for this test is also available a http://
www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/wastediv/ust/
Training.htm.   The test comprises approxi-
mately 25 questions and  is open book.    
 
If you obtain this certification you are limited to 
operating facilities that have a simple suction 
dispensing system.  “Simple suction?” That’s 
when your leak detection for your piping is stat-
ed on your operating permit to be Exempt Suc-
tion System with Vertical Check Valve. 

The States of New Hampshire and Maine also 
have an A and B Certification that is available 
to anyone who applies to take it.    Vermont will 
accept both states certification. 
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At the annual meeting of the Vermont Petroleum Associa-
tion held in Montpelier on December 14, 2011, the Ver-
mont UST Program announced the first award for Best 
Operational Compliance to R. L. Vallee, Inc. of St. Albans.   
Amy Norris of R. L. Vallee, Inc. accepted the award from 
Marc Roy, UST Manager.  Out of approximately 40 facility 
inspections conducted since 2005, RL Vallee has re-
ceived only 7 Notices of Alleged Violation, and only one 
since 2008. The lack of violations demonstrates RL Val-
lee’s commitment to environmental compliance, and sets 
a high bar for others to aspire to. 

  

TANK GOING OUT OF SERVICE? 

 

With gas pricing fluctuating and projected to re-
main unstable for the 
summer months you 
may be thinking of tak-
ing your tank out of ser-
vice. If you plan on not 
using your tank(s) 
please contact the UST Program 802-241-3888. 
Here is an excerpt from the Rules regarding out of 
service tanks: 

§ 8-602 OUT-OF-SERVICE UNDERGROUND STORAGE 
TANK SYSTEMS 

(a) Any underground storage tank system that is 
taken out-of-service shall be managed in accord-
ance with these rules (e.g., corrosion protection, 
release detection), except that systems which are 
empty are not subject to the release detection re-
quirements of §§8-505, 8-506, and 8-507. 

(b) If an underground storage tank system is out
-of-service for 90 days or less, the owner or per-
mittee shall:  

 (1) Notify the Secretary that the tank system is 
out-of-service; 

 (2) Ensure that the liquid level in the tank has 
been lowered to or below the lowest draw-off 
point; 

 (3) Ensure that the vent line(s) is left open and 
functioning; 

 (4) Ensure that all other lines, gauge openings, 
manways, pumps and other ancillary equip-
ment are capped or otherwise secured to 
prevent unauthorized use or access; 

 (5) Post signage or otherwise mark the above-
ground system components to notify custom-

ers and suppliers that the system is out-
of-service; and(6) Secure the fill pipe

(s) to prevent a carrier from adding regulated 
substance to the tank system. 

(c) If an underground storage tank system is 
taken out-of-service for more than 90 days, the 
owner of or permittee shall:  

(1) Comply with the requirements of subsection (b) of         
this section; and 

(2) Ensure that the tank is empty. 

(d) Except as allowed in subsection (e) of this sec-
tion, any underground storage tank system which is out-of
-service for more than one year shall be closed in accord-
ance with §8-604. 

(e) Upon written request, the Secretary may allow an 
underground storage tank system that meets the new con-
struction standards of subchapter 4 to remain out-of-
service for more than one year provided all other applica-
ble requirements of this section are met.  

You can find the entire set of UST Rules on the web at 
http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/wastediv/ust/regs/
fullUSTregs.pdf 

Also remember financial responsibility for the tank contin-
ues to be paid until the tank is permanently closed by re-
moval.   Financial responsibility for 98% of Vermont tank 
owners is provided by the Vermont Petroleum Cleanup 
Fund by payment of the annual assessment fee by Octo-
ber 1 of each year. 

Please contact the UST program at 802-241-3888 with 
any questions.  

Gas Prices 
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In 2009 the Vermont legislature enacted a law (10 V.S.A. §583) that repealed the requirement to use Stage II 
vapor recovery controls at gasoline dispensing facilities (GDFs) as of January 1, 2013. The law allows earlier re-
moval of Stage II vapor recovery controls at a GDF if: 

 excavation is conducted at a GDF for the replacement or repair of any below ground component of a Stage 
II system, or 

 dispensers are replaced at a GDF with dispensers that support triple data encryption standard usage.  

The excavation exemption generally is triggered by such work as replacing underground storage tanks or prod-
uct piping. Please note that if you believe you are eligible to remove your Stage II system prior to January 1, 
2013 you must obtain written approval to do so from the Air Pollution Control Division (APCD) before re-
moving your Stage II system.  The 2009 law also provides that Stage II vapor recovery need not be installed at 
any newly constructed GDF that commences operation after May 1, 2009.   

For more information, contact Dave Shepard with the APCD (583-7119 or dave.shepard@state.vt.us) or visit 
the APCD website at http://www.anr.state.vt.us/air/Compliance/htm/Gasoline.htm.  
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