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Vermont Primary Battery and Rechargeable Battery
Product Stewardship Law Timeline

Act 152 of 2024

July 1, 2024 - (10 V.S.A. 7581) Most Definitions take effect: “Battery-containing products” that have
easily removeable batteries or are packaged with rechargeable batteries are now regulated.

“Damaged Defective lithium batteries” are also regulated and collection must be provided.

“Covered battery” includes both the previously defined primary batteries—4.4 pounds or less—and now
expands to also include rechargeable batteries weighing 25 pounds or less or having a watt-hour rating of
2,000 watt-hours or less. NOTE: *January 1, 2026 — (10 V.S.A. 7581(11)) Definition of Primary Battery
Expanded: The definition of Primary battery will now expand to include non-rechargeable batteries
weighing 25 pounds or less.

July 1, 2024 - Battery Landfill Disposal Ban Expanded: The existing landfill disposal ban on nickel
cadmium and other batteries is expanded to now also apply to rechargeable batteries and primary
batteries.

March 1, 2025 - (10 V.S.A. 7583) Battery Stewardship Organization Registration Due: A stewardship
organization must now register with ANR representing producers of rechargeable batteries and battery-
containing products. ANR must approve or deny battery stewardship registrations. Click here for the
Battery Stewardship Organization Registration Form.

June 1, 2025 - (10 V.S.A. 7584) Battery Stewardship Plan Due: Producers of rechargeable batteries and
battery-containing products must now submit a stewardship plan either individually or through a
stewardship organization to ANR.

July 1, 2025 - (10 V.S.A. 7182(b)) Annual Stewardship Registration: on or before July 1, 2025, and every
year thereafter, Stewardship organizations must file a registration form with the Secretary.

Within 90 days of receipt of a Battery Stewardship Plan, ANR shall determine compliance with 7584.
Rejected applicants will have 45 days to submit a revised plan. (10 V.S.A. 7586(a)).

6-months after ANR approves Battery Stewardship Collection Plan, Producers must implement the
collection plan.

January 1, 2026 — Producer Notification of Sale for rechargeable batteries or battery-containing products (10
V.S.A. 7584(b)(2)): Producers that, after January 1, 2026, seek to offer for sale or offer for promotional
purposes a rechargeable battery or battery containing product not previously sold in VT must notify the
Secretary prior to sale or offer for promotional purposes a rechargeable battery or battery containing product
not covered by an approved stewardship plan.



http://www.vtrecycles.com/
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT152/ACT152%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2024/Docs/ACTS/ACT152/ACT152%20As%20Enacted.pdf
Stewardship%20Organization%20Registration%20Form%20BLANK%203-2024.docx
Stewardship%20Organization%20Registration%20Form%20BLANK%203-2024.docx

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Conservation June 2024
Waste Management & Prevention Division, Solid Waste Management Program | VTrecycles.com | 802-828-1138

January 1, 2026 — (10 V.S.A. 7582) Producer Sale Prohibition Updated: Producers of primary batteries
weighing more than 4.4 pounds up to 25 pounds, rechargeable batteries, or battery-containing products
shall not sell, offer for sale, or deliver to a retailer for sale, a primary, rechargeable, or battery-containing
product unless the producer is participating in a battery stewardship organization.

January 1, 2026 — (10 V.S.A. 7587(b)) Retailer Inventory Exemption allows retailers to sell non-
participating primary batteries weighing more than 4.4 lbs., rechargeable batteries, and battery
containing products purchased prior to January 1, 2026 provided they sell them by January 1, 2027. After
January 1, 2027, a full sale prohibition—regardless of inventory purchase date—is in effect for any battery
producer brands that are not participating in an ANR approved stewardship plan.

July 1, 2026 — (10 V.S.A. 7587(a)) Retailer Sales Prohibited: Retailers shall not sell into Vermont (both
online and brick and mortar sales) primary batteries, rechargeable batteries, or battery-containing
products that are not implementing or participating in an ANR approved battery stewardship plan.

July 1, 2026 — ANR Battery Assessment Due: ANR shall complete an assessment of the opportunities,
challenges, and feasibility of establishing mandatory end-of-life management programs for the following
battery types: hybrid/EVs, battery storage systems, and embedded batteries. ANR must submit the
assessment to House Committee on Energy and the Environment and the Senate Natural Resources
Committee by July 1, 2026.

January 1, 2027 - Retailer Inventory Exemption Sunsets: Retailers are no longer permitted to sell
batteries that are not exempt or otherwise participating in an ANR approved battery stewardship plan.

March 1, 2027 - Annual Report for Rechargeable and Battery Containing Products Due: Annual
Reports must now include data on primary and rechargeable batteries and battery containing products.
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