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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   
FOOD SERVICE ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE 

   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 This is a license which a person, partnership, or corporation must obtain before 
they are allowed to operate a retail food service establishment, including 
restaurants, commercial caterers, food trucks, and retail bakeries. 

   
EXAMPLE OF 
REGULATED 
ACTIVITY 

 All food service establishments that cater to the public by means of advertising and 
operate for more than one day in any one-month. This includes home catering and 
commercial catering, as well as fair stands and bakeries that bake for direct retail 
sales only. 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 The application requests information about the licensee, the type and capacity of 
the facility being licensed, type of water and sewage systems serving the facility, 
proposed opening date and public building permit status and the applicant’s status 
with the Tax Department. 

   
WEB ADDRESS  http://www.healthvermont.gov/health-environment/food-lodging/retail-food-licensing  

 
Application for License to Operate a Food and Lodging Establishment 
 

FEES  Restaurant I Seating Capacity of 0–25  -- $105.00 
Restaurant II  Seating Capacity of 26–50  -- $180.00 
Restaurant III  Seating Capacity of 51–100  -- $300.00 
Restaurant IV  Seating Capacity of 101–200  -- $385.00 
Restaurant V  Seating Capacity of 201–599  -- $450.00 
Restaurant VI  Seating Capacity of 600 or more  --$1000.00 
 
Home Caterer   -- $155.00 
Commercial Caterer  -- $260.00 
Limited Operations  -- $140.00 
 
Fair Stand Single event 4 days or less -- $125.00 
Fair Stand Calendar Year -- $230.00 
 
Seafood Vendor  -- $200.00 
 
Home Bakery   -- $100.00 
Small Commercial Bakery  -- $200.00 
Large Commercial Bakery -- $350.00 
 

   
APPLICATION 
TIME FRAME 

 30 days 

http://www.healthvermont.gov/health-environment/food-lodging/retail-food-licensing
http://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/ENV_FL_LicenseApplication2016.pdf
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ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 
 
CONTACT: Food and Lodging Program 
  802-863-7221 or 800-439-8550 
  foodlodging@vermont.gov  
 
ADDRESS: 108 Cherry Street 
  PO Box 70 
  Burlington, VT 05402-0070 
 
Map of Public Health Inspectors 
 

   
AUTHORITY  18 VSA Chapter 85 
 
APPLICABLE 
RULES 

 Vermont Health Regulations, Chapter 5, Subchapter 2, "Food Service 
Establishment" 
 

APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 The Commissioner of Health issues licenses. A decision of the Commissioner may 
be appealed to the Board of Health under 18 VSA § 4351(e). 

   
OTHER 
PERMITS 
& APPROVALS 

 • Wastewater System & Potable Water Supply (See Sheet 1) 
• Fire Safety Division (Sheet 49);  
• VT Department of Taxes (Sheet 93) 
• Asbestos Program (Sheet 54) 
• Drinking water testing http://www.healthvermont.gov/lab 
• Meat and dairy: http://agriculture.vermont.gov/ 
• Liquor License (Sheet #90) 
• License to sell beer and wine  

(First class license must be obtained from the town) 
• Business registration (Sheet 90.1) 
• Act 250 (Sheet #47) 
• Your Town Office for local permits or regulations 

 
 

 

mailto:foodlodging@vermont.gov
http://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/ENV_FL_DistrictMap.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/18/085
http://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2016/12/REG_food-service-establishments.pdf
http://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2016/12/REG_food-service-establishments.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet01.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet49.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet93.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet54.pdf
http://www.healthvermont.gov/lab
http://agriculture.vermont.gov/
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet90.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet90_1.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet47.pdf
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