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State of Vermont 
PERMIT & LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

OPERATING CERTIFICATE - BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 A boiler or pressure vessel for a public building is required to be inspected 
prior to being placed in service, and is then required to be inspected on a 
periodic basis to insure that the unit meets the requirements for installation and 
maintenance. 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 Owner/operators of boilers and pressure vessels must have initial operating 
inspections and periodic inspections conducted by boiler inspectors approved 
by the Division of Fire Safety. Operating certificate and inspection information 
is reported to the Division. 

   
WEB ADDRESS  https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/boiler  

 
   
FEES  $150.00 each for 3-year initial commission and 3-year renewals 
   
   
ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
FIRE SAFETY DIVISION 

 
CONTACT: Division of Fire Safety; Licensing 
  1311 US Route 302 - Suite 600 
  Barre, VT 05641 
  802-479-7564 
  DPS.DFSLicensing@vermont.gov 
 

   
AUTHORITY  20 V.S.A. Chapter 173 
   
APPLICABLE  
RULES 

 2015 Vermont Fire & Building Safety Code effective 10/10/2016  

   
APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 Fire Safety Division: The applicant may request reconsideration from a permit 
or enforcement action by initially contacting the regional manager to explore 
alternatives to the code requirements. 
 

   
OTHER PERMITS 
& APPROVALS 

 Health Department 
Asbestos & Lead Regulatory Program 
 

 

https://firesafety.vermont.gov/licensing/boiler
mailto:DPS.DFSLicensing@vermont.gov
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/20/173/02730
http://firesafety.vermont.gov/sites/firesafety/files/files/rules/dfs_rules_firecode2015_current.pdf
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