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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

MOBILE HOME PARK REGISTRATION 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PROGRAM 

 The Department of Housing and Community Development administers Vermont’s 
mobile home park laws which are designed to protect the safety and rights of 
owners and residents. It has adopted rules concerning mobile home park leases, 
rent increases, the sale or closure of mobile home parks, and mobile home park 
habitability, and conducts an annual registration of parks. The department is 
authorized to bring action against a park owner in court, impose administrative 
penalties of up to $5,000, or refer violations to the Attorney General or State’s 
Attorney. The department also serves as a resource on mobile home and park 
issues and maintains a website for disseminating information and forms relevant to 
park owners and residents. 

   

EXAMPLE OF 
REGULATED 
ACTIVITY 

 “Mobile home park” means any parcel or contiguous lots of land under common 
ownership or control on which are sited, or which is designed, laid out or adapted to 
accommodate, more than two mobile homes. A parcel or contiguous lots owned by 
agricultural employers providing up to four mobile homes for use by full-time 
workers or employees, and a parcel or contiguous lots used solely on a seasonal 
basis for vacation or recreational mobile homes shall not be considered a mobile 
home park 

   

INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 The annual registration filing must include: 
• All information regarding the location and operations of the mobile home park;  
• Contact information for all owners of the park and the park manager if applicable;  
• Total number of lots; number of lots that are leased, vacant, or other habitable 

lots; lot rent and effective date; and services included in the rent.   
   

WEB ADDRESS  http://accd.vermont.gov/housing/mobile-home-parks  
   

FEES  All annual lot fees are due by September 1 of each year. Online registration is open 
from July 1 thru December 31 only. The fee for the current year is $12.00 per 
occupied, leased lot.  

   

ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 AGENCY OF COMMERCE & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT 
DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT 

HOUSING DIVISION 
 

CONTACT:    Arthur Hamlin, Housing Program Coordinator 
  Mobile Home Parks 
  Arthur.Hamlin@vermont.gov  
  Phone: 802-828-3749 
 
ADDRESS: 1 National Life Drive, Davis Building, 6th Floor 
  Montpelier, VT 05620-0501 
  802-828-3211 

   

http://accd.vermont.gov/housing/mobile-home-parks
mailto:Arthur.Hamlin@vermont.gov
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AUTHORITY   10 VSA Chapter 153: Mobile Home Parks 
   
APPEAL 
PROCESS 

   None 

   
OTHER PERMITS 
AND APPROVALS 

 Wastewater System & Potable Water Supply Permit. See Sheet #1. 
Department of Public Safety, Fire Safety Division. See Sheets 49.1, 50, 50.1 
 

 

http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet01.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet49_1.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet50.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet50_1.pdf
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