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State law protects endangered and threatened species. No person may take or
possess such species without a Threatened & Endangered Species Takings
permit. Endangered species are those whose continued existence as
components of the State’s wild flora or fauna is determined to be in jeopardy.
Threatened species are those likely within the foreseeable future to become
endangered.

The Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department administers the permit program for the
Secretary of the Agency of Natural Resources. The Department’s mission is to
protect and conserve fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats for the people of
Vermont.

Threatened & Endangered Species Takings Permits may be granted only for
the following purposes: incidental take, scientific purposes, enhancement of the
propagation of a species, zoological exhibition, educational purposes, and
special purposes consistent with the purposes of the Federal Endangered
Species Act (ESA).

Permit applications must identify proposed actions, species that may potentially
be taken, purpose of proposed takings, methods and equipment to be used,
probable impacts of the proposed actions, plan for conservation or mitigation of
species impact, site map and final disposition of the species taken. Applications
for research purposes must also include research proposals.

ANR T&E Permits: http://vtfishandwildlife.com/conserve/conservation-
planning/endangered-and-threatened-species

Fees to be charged to a person applying to take a threatened or endangered
species are as follows:

(A) To take for scientific purposes, to enhance the propagation or
survival of the species, for educational purposes or special purposes
consistent with the federal Endangered Species Act, $50.00

(B) To take for zoological or botanical exhibition or for incidental
purposes, $250.00 for each listed animal or plant taken up to a
maximum of $25,000.00. The Secretary may require the
implementation of mitigation strategies and may collect mitigation
funds, in addition to the permit fees, in order to mitigate the impacts
of a taking or the destruction of or adverse impact on critical habitat.

Authorization to take listed species may require Permittees to take specific
survey, management and/or monitoring actions at the Permittee’s cost.
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Depends on project and species involved. If a site visit is needed when a plant
is identifiable, for example, a fall application might need a summer site visit.

VERMONT FISH & WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT

CONTACT: Animals:
Jon Kart
Phone: 802-595-1810 Fax: 802-828-1250
jon.kart@vermont.gov

Plants:

Bob Popp

Phone: 802-476-0127 Fax: 802-476-0129
bob.popp@vermont.gov

ADDRESS: 1 National Life Drive, Davis 2
Montpelier, VT 05620-3702

10 VSA Chapter 123

T&E Rules:
https://leqgislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/1I0APPENDIX/001/00010

Vermont Endangered and Threatened Species Lists:
e Animals

e Plants

Renewable Energy Projects — Right to Appeal to Vermont Public Utility
Commission

If this decision relates to a renewable energy plant for which a certificate of
public good is required under 30 V.S.A. §248, any appeal of this decision must
be filed with the Vermont Public Utility Commission pursuant to 10 V.S.A.
§8506. This section does not apply to a facility that is subject to 10 V.S.A.
81004 (dams before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission), 10 V.S.A.
81006 (certification of hydroelectric projects) or 10 V.S.A. Chapter 43 (dams).
Any appeal under this section must be filed with the Clerk of the Public Utility
Commission within 30 days of the date of this decision; the appellant must file
with the Clerk an original and six copies of its appeal. The appellant shall
provide notice of the filing of an appeal in accordance with 10 V.S.A. 8504(c)(2)
and shall also serve a copy of the Notice of Appeal on the Vermont Department
of Public Service. For further information, see the Rules and General Orders of
the Public Utility Commission, available on line at http://puc.vermont.qgov/. The
address for the Public Utility Commission is 112 State Street, Montpelier,
Vermont, 05620-2701 (Tel. # 802-828-2358).

All Other Projects

Right to Appeal to Environmental Court
Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 220, any appeal of this decision must be filed
with the clerk of the Environmental Division of the Superior Court within 30 days
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of the date of the decision. The Notice of Appeal must specify the parties taking
the appeal and the statutory provision under which each party claims party
status; must designate the act or decision appealed from; must name the
Environmental Court; and must be signed by the appellant or their attorney. In
addition, the appeal must give the address or location and description of the
property, project or facility with which the appeal is concerned and the name of
the applicant or any permit involved in the appeal. The appellant must also
serve a copy of the Notice of Appeal in accordance with Rule 5(b)(4)(B) of the
Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings. For further information,
see the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings, available on line
at www.vermontjudiciary.org. The address for the Environmental Court is 2418
Airport Road, Suite 1, Barre, VT 05641 (Tel. # 802-828-1660).

Federal - For federally listed species, ESA of 1973 applies (Public Law 93-205)
http://www.fws.gov/Endangered/permits/index.html

For migratory birds, Migratory Bird Treaty
http://www.fws.gov/migratorybirds/mbpermits.html
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