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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

DAMS 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 A permit is required to ensure that the construction, reconstruction, alteration or 
removal of dams is carried out to serve the public good and provide adequately 
for the public safety. 
 
Owners of dams capable of impounding more than 500,000 cubic feet of water 
are responsible for the payment of the annual fee, based on the hazard class of 
the dam: low hazard dams $200/year, significant hazard dams $350/year, and 
high hazard dams $1,000/year.  
 

EXAMPLE OF 
REGULATED 
ACTIVITY 

 Construction, enlargement, raising, lowering, remodeling, reconstruction, 
breaching or otherwise altering any dam, pond or impoundment not related to 
generation of electric energy for public use or part of a public utility system 
which is or will be capable of impounding more than 500,000 cubic feet of water 
or other liquid, as measured to the top of the dam. 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 Requires submittal of completed application form, fee, plans and specifications 
and design data. May require public information meeting 10 VSA Chapter 170. 
 

WEB ADDRESS  http://dec.vermont.gov/facilities-engineering/dam-safety/dam-ownership-and-
responsibility/dam-orders 
 

ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 

FACILITIES ENGINEERING DIVISION 
 
CONTACT: Ben Green, P.E. Dam Safety Engineer 
  802-622-4093              benjamin.green@vermont.gov               
                        Steven Hanna, Dam Safety Engineer 
                        802-490-6123             steven.hanna@vermont.gov  
 
ADDRESS: Facilities Engineering Division 
                       1 National Life Drive 
  Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3510 

   
AUTHORITY  10 VSA Chapter 43 

 
APPLICABLE 
RULES 

 If dam impounds less than 500,000 cubic feet it may require a Stream Alteration 
Permit (10 VSA Chapter 41, Subchapter 2), or Stream Obstruction Permit (10 
VSA Chapter 111, § 4607) (Issued by the Commissioner of Fish and Wildlife). If 
hydroelectric project, it is regulated under 10 VSA Chapter 43 of the Public 
Utility Commission. May also require a Conditional Use Determination under 
Wetlands Rules and US Army Corps of Engineers permit. See general 
information about pond construction on Sheet 32.1. 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/10/170.
http://dec.vermont.gov/facilities-engineering/dam-safety/dam-ownership-and-responsibility/dam-orders
http://dec.vermont.gov/facilities-engineering/dam-safety/dam-ownership-and-responsibility/dam-orders
mailto:benjamin.green@vermont.gov
mailto:steven.hanna@vermont.gov
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/10/043
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet32.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet32.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet47_5.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet27.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/permit-handbook/sheet32_1.pdf
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APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 Within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any person aggrieved by an act 
or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, may appeal to the 
environmental court in accordance with the provisions of    
10 VSA Chapter 220. 
 

 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/10/220
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