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PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

CERTIFICATION OF OPERATING LANDFILL DISPOSAL FACILITIES
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Certification authorizes the owner/operator to construct and operate a lined
landfill disposal facility for the disposal of municipal solid waste.

You intend to construct, substantially alter, or operate a lined landfill disposal
facility.

Construction and operation of a MSW landfill.

All persons wishing to construct and operate a lined landfill disposal facility must
submit an application which contains information concerning the location and
design of the facility, operation of the facility, evidence of financial responsibility,
closure and post closure plan and other information required in Section 6-304 of
the Solid Waste Management Rules. Private applicants, or municipalities that
contract with private applicants for operation of these facilities, must include
background review disclosure information as required by 10 V.S.A. § 6605f.

http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid

Original, Renewal and Increase in Tonnage Applications: $0.75 per ton of
certified operational capacity prorated and paid on an annual basis over the
term of certification. The maximum term for certification is five years.
Municipalities are exempt from fee.

The performance standard for processing a complete application is 260 days for
a new or complex renewal application. The performance standard for a standard
renewal is 120 days. This period may run concurrently with the 90-day period
for the background check review.

AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION
WASTE MANAGEMENT & PREVENTION DIVISION
SOLID WASTE PROGRAM

CONTACT: Dennis Fekert Dennis.Fekert@vermont.gov
802-522-0195

ADDRESS: Solid Waste Program
1 National Life Drive — Davis 1
Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3704
802-828-1138
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10 VSA Chapter 159

Solid Waste Management Rules

Within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any person aggrieved by an
act or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, may appeal to the
environmental court in accordance with the provisions of 10 VSA Chapter 220.

Air Pollution Control Division - landfill gas emissions

Wastewater Management Division or out of State authority - a pretreatment
discharge permit from the Wastewater Management Division is required for
the disposal of leachate in a wastewater treatment facility in VT. A permit or
other approval is required for the disposal of landfill leachate outside of VT.

Please check with the Division of Emergency Management & Homeland
Security for reporting requirements for hazardous materials and pesticides,
under Vermont’s Community Right-To-Know Act, also known as Tier Il.
(Contact: Todd Cosgrove: 802-479-7586, todd.cosgrove@vermont.gov)
http://demhs.vermont.gov/programs/epcra

Facilities may be required to obtain an Act 250 Permit.

Contact a Permit Specialist for a Project Review Sheet, see:
http://dec.vermont.gov/environmental-assistance/permits
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