

State of Vermont
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

SOLID	WASTE: CERTIFICATION OF RECYCLING FACILITIES
SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF PERMIT	Certification authorizes owner/operator to collect, store, treat, process or otherwise manage materials to be recycled.
TRIGGER QUESTIONS	Are you going to collect and handle recyclable materials? Are you going to collect and handle more than 50 tons per year of recyclable materials?
EXAMPLE OF ACTIVITY	Recycling center, MRF
INFORMATION REQUIRED	Facilities that anticipate collecting and handling less than 50 tons per year are exempt from certification requirement under Section 6-301(b)(4) of the Solid Waste Management Rules.
	All other recycling facilities may qualify for a categorical certification, provided that an applicant submits an application that contains the information required by Section 6-1207(b) of the Rules. A categorical certification may be issued for up to ten years.
WEB ADDRESS	http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid/solid-waste-facilities
FEES	No fee required for Categorical Recycling Certification.
APPLICATION TIME FRAME	The performance standard for processing complete applications for categorical certifications is 30 days.
ADMINISTERING AGENCY	AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION WASTE MANAGEMENT & PREVENTION DIVISION SOLID WASTE PROGRAM
	CONTACT: Dennis Fekert <u>Dennis.Fekert@vermont.gov</u> 802-522-0195
	ADDRESS: Solid Waste Program 1 National Life Drive – Davis 1 Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3704 802-828-1138

AUTHORITY	10 VSA Chapter 159
APPLICABLE RULES	Solid Waste Management Rules:
	Exemptions 6-301(b)(4) up to 50 tons per year Categorical 6-1207 > 50 tons per year
APPEAL PROCESS	Within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any person aggrieved by an act or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, may appeal to the environmental court in accordance with the provisions of <u>10 VSA Chapter 220</u> .
COMMUNITY RIGHT TO KNOW	Please check with the Division of Emergency Management & Homeland Security for reporting requirements for hazardous materials and pesticides, under Vermont's Community Right-To-Know Act, also known as Tier II. (Contact: Todd Cosgrove: 802-479-7586, todd.cosgrove@vermont.gov). http://demhs.vermont.gov/programs/epcra
ACT 250 INTERFACE	Recycling facilities may be required to obtain an Act 250 Permit.
OTHER PERMITS AND APPROVALS	Contact a Permit Specialist for a Project Review Sheet, see: http://dec.vermont.gov/environmental-assistance/permits