revised 3/18 Sheet # 37



## State of Vermont PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

## SOLID WASTE: CERTIFICATION OF STORAGE & TRANSFER FACILITIES

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF PERMIT Certification authorizes the owner/operator to construct and operate a transfer station for the collection, aggregation and temporary storage of solid waste for transfer to another certified solid waste facility.

WHEN YOU NEED A PERMIT

You intend to construct, substantially alter, or operate a solid waste storage or transfer facility.

EXAMPLE OF REGULATED ACTIVITY

Solid Waste Transfer Station

INFORMATION REQUIRED

All persons wishing to construct and operate a storage and transfer facility must submit an application which contains information concerning the location and design of the facility, operation of the facility, evidence of financial responsibility, closure plan and other information required in Section 6-304 of the Solid Waste Management Rules. Private applicants or, municipalities that contract with private applicants for operation of these facilities, must include background review disclosure information as required by 10 V.S.A. § 6605f.

**WEB ADDRESS** 

http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid/solid-waste-facilities

**FEES** 

Original, Renewal and Increase in Tonnage Applications: \$0.75 per ton of certified operational capacity prorated and paid on an annual basis over the term of certification. The maximum term for certification is ten years. Municipalities are exempt from fee.

APPLICATION TIME FRAME

The performance standard for processing a complete new or complex renewal application is 180 days. This period may run concurrently with the 90-day period for the background check review. A normal renewal application is 100 days.

ADMINISTERING AGENCY

## AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION WASTE MANAGEMENT & PREVENTION DIVISION SOLID WASTE PROGRAM

CONTACT: Dennis Fekert

Dennis.Fekert@vermont.gov

802-522-0195

ADDRESS: Solid Waste Program

1 National Life Drive – Davis 1 Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3704

802-828-1138

revised 3/18 Sheet # 37

AUTHORITY <u>10 VSA Chapter 159</u>

APPLICABLE RULES Solid Waste Management Rules

APPEAL PROCESS

Within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any person aggrieved by an act

or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, may appeal to the

environmental court in accordance with the provisions of 10 VSA Chapter 220.

OTHER INTERFACING PROGRAMS, ISSUES

**AND SOLUTIONS** 

If the transfer station design includes a tipping floor, the design must also include a liquids collection system. Collected liquids must be delivered to a wastewater treatment facility. If the wastewater treatment facility is located in Vermont a pretreatment discharge permit which authorizes the receiving facility

to accept the liquid for treatment is required.

COMMUNITY RIGHT TO KNOW Please check with the Division of Emergency Management & Homeland Security for reporting requirements for hazardous materials and pesticides, under Vermont's Community Right-To-Know Act, also known as Tier II. (Contact: Todd Cosgrove: 802-479-7586, todd.cosgrove@vermont.gov).

http://demhs.vermont.gov/programs/epcra

ACT 250 INTERFACE Storage and Transfer facilities may be required to obtain an Act 250 Permit.

OTHER PERMITS AND APPROVALS

Contact a Permit Specialist for a Project Review Sheet, see: http://dec.vermont.gov/environmental-assistance/permits.