

State of Vermont
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

HAZARDOUS WASTE HANDLER SITE ID FORM

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF PERMIT	Under the Vermont Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (VHWMR), any person who generates or transports hazardous waste, or who owns or operates a facility that treats, stores, disposes, or recycles hazardous waste, must "notify" the Waste Management & Prevention Division (WMPD) of such activity.
	Notification is accomplished by submitting a site-specific Hazardous Waste Handler Site ID Form to the WMPD. While this form does not need to be re- submitted on a regular basis, it must be revised/resubmitted whenever the information required by the form changes.
	Also, if a business handles hazardous waste at multiple properties located in Vermont, each "site" is considered a separate "handler" and is subject to the notification requirement.
APPLICABLE RULES	Vermont's Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (See § 7-104). http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/hazardous/regulations
INFORMATION REQUIRED	In general, the Hazardous Waste Handler Site ID Form requires: general facility information; information about the site location and activities conducted at the site; the site mailing address; site contact information; identification of the site owner and operator; a description of hazardous waste, universal waste and used oil activities conducted at the site; and specific information about the types and quantities of hazardous waste and universal waste generated and/or handled.
	In addition to keeping the information required by the Hazardous Waste Handler Site ID Form Site ID Form up-to-date, a revised Hazardous Waste Handler Site ID Form must be submitted to the WMPD upon transfer of ownership of any site/facility that is subject to the notification requirement.
WEB SITE	http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/hazardous
HAZARDOUS WASTE HANDLER SITE ID FORM INFORMATION	http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/hazardous/administrative/epa-site- identification-numbers

FEES While no fee is assessed for notification, annual generator fees are assessed based on the waste generation information provided on the Hazardous Waste Handler Site ID form as follows:

Conditionally exempt generators:\$ 75 per yearSmall quantity generators:\$125 per yearLarge quantity generators:\$600 per year

ADMINISTERING AGENCY

AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION WASTE MANAGEMENT & PREVENTION DIVISION HAZARDOUS WASTE PROGRAM

1 National Life Drive – Davis 1 Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3704

CONTACT: Wendy Edwards <u>Wendy.Edwards@vermont.gov</u> (802) 522-0261

AUTHORITY	10 VSA § 6603, 6604(b) 3 VSA § 2822(j)(24), 10 VSA § 6608(f)
COMMUNITY RIGHT TO KNOW	Please check with the Division of Emergency Management & Homeland Security for reporting requirements for hazardous materials and pesticides, under Vermont's Community Right-To-Know Act, also known as Tier II. Contact Todd Cosgrove: 802-479-7586 todd.cosgrove@vermont.gov http://demhs.vermont.gov/programs/epcra