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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

WASTE TRANSPORTATION PERMIT 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 The Agency of Natural Resources (ANR) issues hauler permits to parties (in-state, and 
out-of-state) that intend to haul solid, liquid, residual, or hazardous waste materials on 
Vermont roadways. Visit the Department of Environmental Conservation’s (DEC), Solid 
Waste Program’s Waste Haulers website for applications and forms. 
 
Haulers may also need permits from solid waste districts or municipalities. 

   
CRITERIA FOR 
JURISDICTION 

 Commercial haulers are required to obtain and maintain a waste transportation permit. 
A commercial hauler is defined as: 

(a) any person that transports regulated quantities of hazardous waste; and, 
(b) any person that transports solid and residual (septage or sewage) waste for 

compensation. 
This also includes: scrap tires, demolition debris, used oil, liquid waste, food waste, etc. 

   
BUSINESS STATUS  To be considered for a waste hauler’s permit you are required to do the following:  

• If your business is a corporation you are required to register with the Vermont 
Secretary of State’s Corporation Division; or out-of-state haulers should register 
as a “foreign” corporation on all applications. 
https://www.vtsosonline.com/online  

• If you are the only owner (sole proprietorship) you must complete all 
applications as “doing business as”. For example: John Smith dba John’s 
Rubbish Removal. 

   
APPLICATION 
REQUIREMENTS 

 Applications for New Permit (or 5-year renewal): 
• Vermont Waste Transportation Vehicle Report Form 
• Business Disclosure Statement  
• Personal History Disclosure Form(s) 
• Hazardous waste haulers must also include: Supplemental Application 

 
Applications for Annual Renewal, or adding vehicles (modification): 

• Vermont Waste Transportation Vehicle Report Form 
• Annual Statement 
• Hazardous waste haulers must also include: Supplemental Application 

   
OTHER 
REQUIREMENTS 

 Franchise Tax Application 
Non-hazardous waste haulers, hauling out-of-state should contact the Vermont 
Department of Taxes for a Franchise Tax Application, and submit a copy to the 
DEC Solid Waste Hauler’s Program on a quarterly basis. 

 
Septage Haulers  

Septage haulers should contact the DEC Residual Program for fees & reporting 
requirements. Contact: Eamon Twohig (802) 490-6189. 

 
Hazardous Waste Haulers 

Hazardous waste haulers should contact the DEC Hazardous Waste Program 
for an Annual Report, and applicable regulations & fees. Contact: Steve Simoes 
(802) 522-0386. 

http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid/waste-haulers
https://www.vtsosonline.com/online
mailto:Eamon.Twohig@vermont.gov
mailto:Steve.Simoes@vermont.gov
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WEB ADDRESSES  Haulers:  http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid/waste-haulers  

Residuals:  http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/residuals-management 
Hazardous:  http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/hazardous/permit-facilities 

   
FEES  Hazardous waste vehicle, regardless of size:  $125 each/year 

Non-hazardous: 
2-Axle (pickup, stake-body, utility trailer, etc.): $ 50 each/year 
3 or 4-Axle (packer, dump, roll-off, box truck): $ 75 each/year 
All others (e.g. tractor and trailers (each separate)): $100 each/year 

   

PENALTIES  Penalties for hauling without a permit significantly exceeds the permit fees.  
You can also be ticketed by any law enforcement officer. 

   
APPLICATION 
TIME FRAME 

 The performance standard for processing a complete application is 30 days; however, 
please allow up to 90 days for the required background review.  
 

   
ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
  DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 

SOLID WASTE PROGRAM 
 
CONTACT: Cheryl Hamilton Cheryl.Hamilton@vermont.gov 
  SW Certification & Compliance Section 
  802-522-5949 
   
ADDRESS: Waste Management & Prevention Division 
  One National Life Drive – Davis 1  
  Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3704 
  802-828-1138 

   
AUTHORITY  10 V.S.A. Sections 6607a, 6607, and 6605f 
   
APPLICABLE 
RULES 

 Vermont Solid Waste Management Rules 

Vermont Hazardous Waste Management Regulations, Subchapter 4 
 

OTHER PERMITS  Haulers may also need permits from solid waste districts or municipalities of any towns 
in which they provide services. Find contact info at www.802recycles.com.  

   
APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 If certification is modified, suspended, revoked, or denied, a written statement of 
reasons will be supplied to the transporter involved. The transporter has 30 days from 
receipt of the statement to request a hearing to the Secretary of the Agency of Natural 
Resources.  
 
Any person aggrieved by an act or decision of the Secretary, or any party by right, may 
appeal to the Environmental Court within 30 days of the date of the act or decision in 
accordance with the provisions of 10 V.S.A. Chapter 220 and the Vermont Rules of 
Environmental Court Proceedings. 
 

 

http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid/waste-haulers
http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/residuals-management
http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/hazardous/permit-facilities
mailto:Cheryl.Hamilton@vermont.gov
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/10/159
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/wmp/SolidWaste/Documents/SWRule.final_.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/wmp/HazWaste/Documents/Regulations/VHWMR_Sub4.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid/local-districts
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