revised 4/2020 Sheet # 34



State of Vermont PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

HAZARDOUS WASTE TREATMENT, STORAGE, DISPOSAL FACILITY (TSD) CERTIFICATION

OVERVIEW

Certification is required for all hazardous waste treatment, (long-term) storage, and disposal (TSD) facilities located in Vermont. Prior to applying for Certification, all commercial treatment and disposal (not storage) facilities must have already obtained a "Certificate of Need" (10 V.S.A. § 6606a, Vermont Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (VHWMR) § 7-504(b)).

TSD Certifications are issued for a period not to exceed ten years.

Examples of TSD activities subject to Certification include:

- Storage of hazardous waste received from off-site (including storage for more than three (3) days by recycling facilities)
- On-site storage of hazardous waste for more than 90 days by Large Quantity Generators (LQGs)
- On-site storage of hazardous waste for more than 180 days by Small Quantity Generators (SQGs)
- Transportation-related facilities that store hazardous waste for more than 10 days
- Treatment of hazardous waste (other than treatment conducted by generators pursuant to VHWMR § 7-502(o))
- Placement/disposal of hazardous waste in surface impoundments, incinerators, waste piles, drip pads and landfills

CRITERIA FOR JURISDICTION

With few exceptions (See VHWMR §7-502), all persons who treat, store or dispose of hazardous waste must first obtain Certification.

COMMUNITY RIGHT TO KNOW

Please check with the Division of Emergency Management & Homeland Security for reporting requirements for hazardous materials and pesticides, under Vermont's Community Right-To-Know Act, also known as Tier II.

Contact Todd Cosgrove:

802-479-7586

todd.cosgrove@vermont.gov

http://demhs.vermont.gov/programs/epcra

INFORMATION REQUIRED

Requirements for TSD Certification applications are specified in VHWMR § 7-505. To be determined administratively complete, an application must include:

- Identification of the owner and operator of the facility
- A complete description of the facility and its location
- A complete description of types & amounts of hazardous waste handled by the facility
- A procedure for characterizing all wastes handled by the facility
- A description of the processes used to treat, store or dispose of each waste handled
- A description of security procedures and emergency equipment used by the facility
- A contingency plan for emergencies
- An employee training plan
- A facility closure plan
- Documentation of financial assurances for facility closure and civil liability arising from

revised 4/2020 Sheet #34

sudden incidents that may occur at the facility

Waste management personnel background review forms (See 10 VSA § 6605f)

WEB ADDRESS

http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/hazardous/permit-facilities

FEES Original Application Fee: \$5,775 (No fee for renewal applications)

> Annual Operating Fee: Commercial Facilities \$2,000.00 Captive Facilities

> > \$ 75.00

\$1,100.00

Modifications: Class I

Class II \$ 500.00 Class III \$ 750.00

APPLICATION PROCESSING TIME FRAMES An administratively complete application: 180 days Certificate of Need application:360 days Class 2 modification:120 days Class 3 modification: 80 days

ADMINISTERING AGENCY

AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION **WASTE MANAGEMENT & PREVENTION DIVISION HAZARDOUS WASTE PROGRAM**

CONTACT: Marc Roy Marc.Roy@vermont.gov

802-522-0275

ADDRESS: Waste Management & Prevention Division

> 1 National Life Drive - Davis 1 Montpelier, Vermont 05620-3704

AUTHORITY

10 VSA §§ 6603, 6604, 6605f, 6606, 6606a.

APPLICABLE RULES

Subchapter 5 of the Vermont Hazardous Waste Management Regulations (Note: Many requirements are incorporated by reference from 40 CFR)

APPEAL PROCESS Within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any person aggrieved by an act or decision of the Secretary, or any party by right, may appeal to the environmental court in accordance with the provisions of 10 VSA Chapter 220

OTHER **INTERFACING PROGRAMS**

Solid Waste Program (for facilities managing solid waste or household hazardous waste)

Wastewater Division (for discharges and underground injection)

Air Pollution Control Division (for organic air emissions and treatment)

ACT 250 INTERFACE Act 250 Permit is likely required for new facilities. Facilities undergoing significant expansion or alteration may need Act 250 Permits.