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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

WATER QUALITY CERTIFICATION – HYDROELECTRIC 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 Section 401(a)(1) of the Clean Water Act specifies that any applicant for a 
Federal license or permit to conduct any activity including, but not limited to, the 
construction or operation of facilities, which result in any discharge into the 
navigable waters, shall provide the licensing or permitting agency a certification 
from the State... that such discharge will comply with the applicable provisions 
of sections 301 (Effluent limitations), 302 (Water quality related effluent 
limitations), 303 (Water Quality Standards and implementation plans), 306 
(National Standards of Performance) and 307 (Toxic and Pretreatment Effluent 
Standards) of the Act. The Act also enables the administering agency to waive 
certification requirements. A federal license or permit may not be granted if 
certification has been denied. 

   
EXAMPLE OF 
REGULATED 
ACTIVITY 

 This sheet applies specifically to activities at hydroelectric dams, such as 
licensing or relicensing of hydroelectric projects by the Federal Energy 
Regulatory Commission and construction related activities subject to Corps of 
Engineers jurisdiction under Clean Water Act Section 404 or the Rivers and 
Harbor Act of 1899. See Sheet 27 for other activities subject to Section 401. 

   
CRITERIA FOR 
JURISDICTION 

 The need for a certification is triggered by the need for a federal license or 
permit. 
 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 The application form is available on the web at Watershed Management 
Division - Hydroelectric Power Information submitted must be sufficient to make 
a determination that the activity (construction and operation) will be carried out 
in a manner that will comply with the Vermont Water Quality Standards and any 
other appropriate requirements of state law. The application and supporting 
documentation goes to the Director, Water Quality Division. 

   
WEB ADDRESS  https://dec.vermont.gov/watershed/rivers/streamflow-protection/hydroelectric 
   
FEES  1% of project cost with a minimum of $200.00 and a maximum of $ 20,000.00 
   
APPLICATION 
TIME FRAME 

 30 days public notice for draft decision. General processing time is 3 months or 
more. 
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ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 

WATERSHED MANAGEMENT DIVISION 
 
CONTACT: Jeff Crocker 
   Streamflow Protection Coordinator 
  802-490-6151 
  Jeff.Crocker@vermont.gov  
 
ADDRESS: 1 National Life Drive, Davis 3 
  Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 
 

   
AUTHORITY  10 V.S.A. Section 1004 

Section 401 of the Federal Clean Water Act 
   
APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 Effective January 31, 2005, within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any 
person aggrieved by an act or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, 
may appeal to the environmental court in accordance with the provisions of 
10 VSA Chapter 220. 

   
OTHER PERMITS 
AND APPROVALS 

 Other state permit programs involving discharges to waters, wetlands or water-
related resources may need to be contacted. Army Corps of Engineers (see 
Sheets 97, 98, 99). 
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