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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

RESIDUAL MANAGEMENT CERTIFICATION 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 Solid Waste Management Facility certification for ensuring that wastewater 
treatment biosolids and septage management activities comply with the 
Vermont Solid Waste Management Rules and Guidelines. 

   
EXAMPLE OF 
REGULATED 
ACTIVITY 

 Management of biosolids, stabilized septage, short paper fiber and wood ashes 
via a variety of strategies. The management options may include but are not 
limited to: recycling via land application, disposal, and incineration.  

   
CRITERIA FOR 
JURISDICTION 

 Certificates are required for managers of biosolids and domestic septage if 
managed at any facility other than a municipal wastewater treatment facility. 
Sludge Management Plans are required for facilities that do not produce 
biosolids for recycling. Short Paper Fiber and Wood Ash generators managing 
these materials in Vermont must obtain a Certificate of Approval. 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 Solid waste management plan that provides a complete description of the waste 
management activities and strategy, waste characterization, and management 
site attributes in a manner that demonstrates compliance with the Solid Waste 
Management Rules. Private applicants, or municipalities that contract with 
private applicants for operation of these facilities, must include background 
review disclosure information as required by 10 VSA § 6605(f). 

   
WEB ADDRESS  http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/residuals-management  

 
FEES  $1,000  for solid waste certification of land application and biosolids programs 

$   125  for minor amendments to solid waste certification 
No Fee  for Sludge Management Plans or Certificates of Approval for Wood Ash  
              and Short Paper Fiber Management 
 

APPLICATION 
TIME FRAME 
 

 The performance standard for processing a complete application is 120 days (or 
200 days with a public meeting). This period may run concurrently with the 90-
day period for the background check review if one is required. 

   
ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 

WASTE MANAGEMENT & PREVENTION DIVISION 
 
CONTACT: Residuals Management & Emerging Contaminants Program 
  Eamon Twohig Eamon.Twohig@vermont.gov  
  802-490-6189 
ADDRESS: 1 National Life Drive, Davis 1 
  Montpelier, VT 05620-3704 

   

http://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/residuals-management
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AUTHORITY  10 VSA Chapter 159 
   
APPLICABLE 
RULES 

 Vermont Solid Waste Management Rules, effective March 15, 2012 
40 CFR Part 503 – Standards for the Use or Disposal of Sewage Sludge  

   
APPEAL PROCESS  Effective January 31, 2005, within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any 

person aggrieved by an act or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, 
may appeal to the environmental court in accordance with the provisions of 
10 VSA Chapter 220. 
 

OTHER PERMITS  An Act 250 Permit may be required. The applicant should contact the District 
Act 250 Coordinator for a determination. See Map. Outside of the state process, 
local zoning or building permits may also be required. The applicant must 
contact the municipality(s) involved for a determination. 
 
For further information, contact a Permit Specialist for a Project Review Sheet. 
 
http://dec.vermont.gov/environmental-assistance/permits  
 

 

https://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/solid
https://www.epa.gov/biosolids/biosolids-laws-and-regulations
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/10/220
http://nrb.vermont.gov/
http://nrb.vermont.gov/act250-program/district-staff-and-commissions
http://dec.vermont.gov/environmental-assistance/permits/specialists
http://dec.vermont.gov/environmental-assistance/permits
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