Revised 12/2018 Sheet # 8



## State of Vermont PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

## **DISCHARGE PERMIT: PRETREATMENT**

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF PERMIT Regulates the discharge of high strength waste and toxic pollutants from industrial and commercial activities to municipal wastewater treatment facilities and collection systems.

EXAMPLE OF REGULATED ACTIVITY

Discharges of process wastewater from electroplating, metal finishing, cheese manufacturing, landfill leachate, ice cream manufacturing, breweries, etc. to municipally owned wastewater treatment facilities and collection systems.

CRITERIA FOR JURISDICTION

Permit is needed for the discharge of any waste that may adversely affect the proper operation of a municipal wastewater treatment. Jurisdictional determinations may be obtained from the Wastewater Management Program.

INFORMATION REQUIRED

Description of the industrial or commercial process generating the wastewater, volume of wastewater discharged, type and concentration of pollutants present, plans and specifications of any treatment system proposed by the applicant, location of discharge, and approval by the affected municipality.

**WEB ADDRESS** 

https://dec.vermont.gov/watershed/wastewater/discharge-permits

**FEES** 

Please visit the website or download this Wastewater Fee Schedule.

APPLICATION TIME FRAME

The performance standard for processing a complete application:

New individual permit: 180 days

General permit (remediation, pretreatment): 30 days (NOI) NOTE: Performance standards do not include a required

minimum 45-day notice and comment period.

ADMINISTERING AGENCY

## AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION WATERSHED MANAGEMENT DIVISION

CONTACT: Nick Giannetti

Nick.Giannetti@vermont.gov

802-490-6186

ADDRESS: 1 National Life Drive, 3rd Floor - Davis Bldg

Montpelier, VT 05620 anr.wsmd@vermont.gov

Revised 12/2018 Sheet # 8

**AUTHORITY** 10 VSA Chapter 47

Federal Clean Water Act

APPLICABLE

RULES

Vermont Water Pollution Control Permit Regulations (1974)

and Amendment (1991)

Vermont Water Quality Standards (2017)

40 CFR Part 403 and other applicable sections

APPEAL PROCESS

Effective January 31, 2005, within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any person aggrieved by an act or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, may appeal to the environmental court in accordance with the provisions of

10 VSA Chapter 220.

**OTHER PERMITS** 

Request a Project Review Sheet from a Permit Specialist.