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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

DISCHARGE PERMIT:  INDUSTRIAL 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 Regulates discharges to surface water of wastewater generated from industrial 
and commercial activities. All industrial and commercial facilities that discharge 
wastewater directly from a point source (such as a pipe, ditch or channel) into a 
receiving waterbody (lake, river, or ocean) are issued this National Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit. The state of Vermont has 
assumed the NPDES program from the federal government and issues permits 
through the Wastewater Management Program. 

   
EXAMPLE OF 
REGULATED 
ACTIVITY 

 Direct discharge of treated filter backwash, cooling water, industrial process 
wastewater (e.g. pulp and paper manufacturing, quarrying activities, water 
treatment facilities, etc.) to waters of the State. 

   
CRITERIA FOR 
JURISDICTION 

 This permit is for direct discharges of treated wastewater to waters of the State. 
(Facilities that discharge to a wastewater treatment facility, which in turn 
discharges into the receiving waterbody, may require a pretreatment permit.) 
Jurisdictional determinations may be obtained from the Wastewater 
Management Program. 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 Description of the industrial or commercial process generating the wastewater, 
volume of wastewater discharged, type and concentration of pollutants present, 
plans and specifications of any treatment system proposed by the applicant, 
location of discharge. 

   
WEB ADDRESS  https://dec.vermont.gov/watershed/wastewater/discharge-permits  
   
FEES  Please visit the website or download this Wastewater Fee Schedule. 

 
APPLICATION 
TIME FRAME 

 The performance standard for processing a complete application: 
New & renewal individual permit:  180 days 

NOTE: Performance standards do not include a required  
minimum 45-day notice and comment period.   

 
ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 

WATERSHED MANAGEMENT DIVISION 
 
CONTACT: Amy Polaczyk,  Amy.Polaczyk@vermont.gov   
  802-490-6185 
 
ADDRESS: 1 National Life Drive, 3rd Floor - Davis Bldg 
  Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 
  anr.wsmd@vermont.gov  
 

   

https://dec.vermont.gov/watershed/wastewater/discharge-permits
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/wsm/wastewater/docs/WSMDWastewaterPermitFees.2015.pdf
mailto:Amy.Polaczyk@vermont.gov
mailto:anr.wsmd@vermont.gov


Revised 12/2018   Sheet # 7.2 
 

Page 2 of 2 

   
AUTHORITY  10 VSA Chapter 47 

Federal Clean Water Act 
   
APPLICABLE 
RULES 

 Vermont Water Pollution Control Permit Regulations (1974)  
and Amendment (1991) 
Vermont Water Quality Standards (2017) 
40 CFR Parts 122-136, 403-609 

   
APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 Effective January 31, 2005, within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any 
person aggrieved by an act or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, 
may appeal to the environmental court in accordance with the provisions of 
10 VSA Chapter 220. 

   
OTHER PERMITS  Request a Project Review Sheet from a Permit Specialist. 

 
 

https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/documents/dec-wpc-regs-1974-02-26.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/documents/dec-wpc-chap1312-1991-10-07.pdf
http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/documents/wsmd_water_quality_standards_2016.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/10/220
https://dec.vermont.gov/environmental-assistance/permits
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