

State of Vermont
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

DISCHARGE PERMIT: MUNICIPAL

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF PERMIT	Regulates discharges to surface waters from municipal wastewater treatment facilities. All municipal facilities that discharge wastewater directly from a point source (such as a pipe, ditch or channel) into a receiving waterbody (lake, river, or ocean) are issued this National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit. The state of Vermont has assumed the NPDES program from the federal government and issues permits through the Wastewater Management Program.
EXAMPLE OF REGULATED ACTIVITY	Direct discharge of treated sanitary sewage into waters of the State.
CRITERIA FOR JURISDICTION	This permit is for direct discharges to surface waters of the State. (Facilities that discharge to a wastewater treatment facility, which in turn discharges into the receiving waterbody, may require a pretreatment permit.) Jurisdictional determinations may be obtained from the Wastewater Management Program.
INFORMATION REQUIRED	Description of the volume of wastewater discharged, type of technology, plans and specifications of treatment system proposed by the applicant, location of discharge.
WEB ADDRESS	https://dec.vermont.gov/watershed/wastewater/discharge-permits
FEES	Please visit the website or download this Wastewater Fee Schedule.
APPLICATION TIME FRAME	 The performance standard for processing a complete application: New & renewal individual permit: 180 days NOTE: Performance standards do not include a required minimum 45-day notice and comment period.
ADMINISTERING AGENCY	AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION WATERSHED MANAGEMENT DIVISION
	CONTACT: Amy Polaczyk <u>Amy.Polaczyk@vermont.gov</u> 802-490-6185
	ADDRESS: 1 National Life Drive, 3 rd Floor - Davis Bldg Montpelier, VT 05620 <u>anr.wsmd@vermont.gov</u>

AUTHORITY	10 VSA Chapter 47
	Federal Clean Water Act
APPLICABLE RULES	Vermont <u>Water Pollution Control Permit Regulations</u> (1974) and <u>Amendment</u> (1991) Vermont <u>Water Quality Standards</u> (2017) 40 CFR Parts 122-136
APPEAL PROCESS	Effective January 31, 2005, within 30 days of the date of an act or decision, any person aggrieved by an act or decision of the secretary, or any party by right, may appeal to the environmental court in accordance with the provisions of <u>10 VSA Chapter 220</u> .
OTHER PERMITS	Request a Project Review Sheet from a Permit Specialist.