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Air Quality and Climate Division 
One National Life Dr, Davis Building 4th floor [phone] 802-828-1288 
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To preserve, enhance, restore, and conserve Vermont's natural resources, and protect human health, for the 
benefit of this and future generations. 

 
 

Permitting and Registration Fee Schedules 
 

Permit to Construct Application Fees1 

Minor Administrative Amendment to an Existing Permit to Construct $150 

Transfer of Permit Ownership $150 

New Major Source or Major Modification $15,000 

New Minor Source or Minor Modification (see also supplemental fees below) $2000 

Engineering Review $2,000 

Review of Air Quality Impact Evaluation (Modeling) $2,000 

Review and Observation of Stack Emission Testing $2,000 

Review and Audit of Stack Continuous Emissions Monitors 
(CEMS) $2,000 

Review and Audit Performance of Ambient Air Monitors $2,000 

Implement Public Comment Requirements $500 

 
Fees may be paid electronically by credit card using the ANR Online portal or the Automated Clearing House (ACH) or by check 
made payable to the “State of Vermont – Air Quality & Climate Division” and mailed to: 
 

Air Quality & Climate Division 
Davis 4, One National Life Drive 
Montpelier, VT 05620-3802 
attn: Permitting Section 

 

 
1 All permit application fees are set forth in 3 V.S.A. 2822(j)(1)(A) and were last amended/effective January 1, 2018.  
All permit application fees are due at time of application submittal except the supplemental fees for new minor source 
and minor source modifications which are determined, billed and due prior to permit issuance.  All permit application 
fees are non-refundable once submitted.  The fees in effect at time of submittal of an administratively complete 
application shall apply for all supplemental fees for that application. In accordance with Act 77 of 2017, permit 
application fees for anaerobic digesters are capped at $1,000 and no supplemental fees are assessed.  



 

 
 

Annual Point Source Registration Fees2 

For facilities with actual annual aggregate 
emissions of all air contaminants of 

less than 5 tons. 

Select facilities may be required to register but may 
not be required to pay any fees.  Select facilities in 
certain categories of sources, as to be determined 
by regulations, may be required to register and pay 

a $500 base fee only. 

For facilities with actual annual aggregate 
emissions of all air contaminants of  

5 tons or greater but less than 10 tons. 

$1,000 base fee, plus 
$0.0335 per pound ($67/ton) of emissions of SO2, 

PM, CO, NOx, and Hydrocarbons. 

For facilities with actual annual aggregate 
emissions of all air contaminants of  

10 tons or greater. 

$1,500 base fee, plus 
$0.0335 per pound ($67/ton)* of emissions of SO2, 

PM, CO, NOx, and Hydrocarbons. 

* For plants producing renewable energy as defined in 30 V.S.A. 
§ 8002 the per pound fee shall not exceed $64,000.00 on those 
emissions from renewable energy sources. 

Hazardous Air Contaminant Surcharge  
by Category of Contaminant: 

 
Fees assessed based on the total actual 

pounds of each contaminant emitted. 
Excludes emissions from combustion of fuels 
listed below. Hazardous Air Contaminants are 
categorized with regard to public health, and 

are as listed in App. C of the VAPCRs. 

  
 
 

Carcinogens (Category I):  $0.95 per lb 
Chronic (Category II):    $0.04 per lb 
Irritant (Category III):    $0.02 per lb 

Hazardous Air Contaminant Surcharge 
by Fuel Combustion: 

 
Fees assessed based on actual amount of 
respective fuel burned annually.  Fuels not 

listed here are instead assessed fees based 
on the Hazardous Air Contaminant Surcharge 

by category listed above. 

#2 fuel oil:  $0.0005/gal* 
Diesel engines/generators: $0.0055/gal 
Gas turbine (fuel oil fired): $0.0022/gal 

#4,#5,#6 fuel oil and used oil:  $0.0015/gal 
Propane/LPG: $0.0003 

Natural gas/CNG:  $2.745/MMCF** 
Wood:  $0.1915/ton*** 

Wood utility unit:  $0.0607/ton*** 

*except diesel engines/generators and gas turbines which are 
listed separately. 
**MMCF equals million cubic feet. Includes compressed natural 
gas (CNG). 
***tons of wood as-fired, including moisture. 

 

 
2 Annual point source registration fees are as set forth in 3 V.S.A. §2822(j)(1)(B), §2822(k) and 
§2822(l) and were last amended/effective January 1, 2018.  The fees in effect at time of billing shall 
apply. In accordance with Act 77 of 2017, permit application fees for anaerobic digesters are capped 
at $1,000 and no supplemental fees are assessed. 


