# Sale of Catalytic Converters Law

Summary & FAQ

# This law effective 7/1/23 affects salvage yards, scrap metal processors and customers.

# **Frequently Asked Questions**

Produced by the Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation, Solid Waste Management Program Phone 802-828-1138 Website <u>https://dec.vermont.gov/waste-management/salvage-yards</u>

#### 1. Q: How does this law affect the sale of catalytic converters?

A: Scrap metal processors and salvage yards are prohibited from purchasing more than one detached catalytic converter per day from any person (unless they operate a permitted salvage yard or motor vehicle repair shop). The Act also prohibits you from transporting two or more catalytic converters.

#### 2. Q: What if I own the catalytic converters and want to lawfully recycle them?

A: You may transport multiple catalytic converters <u>only</u> if each of them is engraved or otherwise permanently marked with the VIN number of the vehicle it was removed from <u>and</u> you have documentation showing you own the vehicle.

3. Q: I'm a scrap metal processor and I operate a salvage yard and regularly accept catalytic converters from customers, what do I have to do?

A: Salvage yards and metal processors must require at the time of the sale that the customer provides a government-issued photo ID. You must document their full name, current address, date of birth, time and date of the transaction, the license plate number of the seller's vehicle, a description of the items received from the seller, and documentation showing that the seller lawfully owns the items to be sold. These records are subject to inspection by law enforcement or state salvage yard inspectors.

**4. Q:** What documents would be acceptable to show that the seller has lawful ownership of them? A: A bill of sale, itemized receipt, letter of authorization or a signed affidavit of ownership are acceptable.

# 5. Q: What if the seller does not provide proof of ownership at the time of the sale?

A: By the close of business on the following day, you must submit a report to the Vermont Department of Public Safety describing the items sold and the seller's identifying information that they provided to you. You must also hold the item for 10 days following purchase. The online report to the Department of Public Safety can be found at <a href="https://vicvsp.wufoo.com/forms/scrap-metal-processor-purchasing-report">https://vicvsp.wufoo.com/forms/scrap-metal-processor-purchasing-report</a>, and additional information is at <a href="https://vicvsp.wufoo.com/forms/scrap-metal-processor-purchasing-report">https://vicvsp.wufoo.com/forms/scrap-metal-processor-purchasing-report</a>.

# 6. Q: How long do I need to keep seller and sales records?

A: You must retain these records for at least 5 years at your normal place of business or other readily accessible and secure location. You must also provide these records to any law enforcement official, authorized security agent of a governmental agency or state salvage yard inspector who requests them at the scrap metal processor's business location during regular business hours.

# 7. Q: What are the penalties for disobeying this law?

A: The penalty under this law is \$1,000.00 for each transaction, repeat violators can be fined up to \$25,000.00 for each transaction.

Additional Resources Read the law: https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/09/082 Department of Environmental Conservation