Registration is required for all USTs, except for tanks under 1100 gallons located at a farm or a private residence. USTs at public buildings must register no matter what size.
Propane tanks, underground or aboveground are not regulated by this agency. Please go to VT Department of Public Safety Division of Fire Safety's website for infomation on propane tanks.
How to register an underground storage tank:
- Complete and submit the applicable parts of the UST Form: Part I, Part II , Part III, PartIV . The form (s) can be filled out on-line, but it cannot be saved and submitted on-line.
- Pay land recording fee of $10 made payable to the town or city clerk of the town or city where the UST is located.
Mail the form along with the $10 town/city fee to: UST Program, 1 National Life Dr-Davis 1, Montpelier VT 05620-3704
How to Permit an underground storage tank:
Permitting is required for all Category One Tanks (COTS): These are underground storage tanks that contain motor fuel and fuel oil for retail sales, back up generators, waste oil storage, and chemical storage.
- Complete and submit the applicable parts of the UST Form: Part I, Part II , Part III, PartIV (The UST form parts can be filled out on-line, but it cannot be saved and submitted on-line) and for a new facility complete Financial Responsibility Worksheet
- Complete and submit an Operator A/B Designation form
- Pay the permit fee of $125.00 per UST per year, payable to Treasurer, State of Vermont.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does Registration Mean?
A tank owner is required to register (notifying of a UST) on an application form provided by the Agency for all new and existing USTs.
Are any USTs exempt from Registration?
YES, USTs at a farm or residence in VT that are :
- less than 1100 gallons and are used exclusively for on-premises heating and domestic hot water .
- less than 1100 gallons used for storing motor fuel which are not used in connection with a commercial operation
What USTs need to be registered with the State of Vermont?
Except as noted above, all USTs used for the storage of diesel, fuel oil, kerosene, gasoline, new oil, used (waste) oil, chemical product, and out-of-service tanks are required to be registered.
Are any registered USTs exempt from having a permit?
The following are exempt from registration and or permitting requirements:
- a UST storing fuel oil for on-premises heating and domestic hot water at a single family dwelling under 1100 gallons
- a farm or residential tank used for storing motor fuel under 1100 gallons
- UST(s) that has been permanently closed-in-place
What USTs are required to have a permit issued by the Agency?
All owners or operators of Category One Tanks are required to have a permit to install, upgrade, or operate a Category One Tank.
What is the definition of a Category One Tank?
ALL underground storage tanks except fuel oil storage tanks used for on-premises heating purposes or farm or residential tanks used for storing motor fuel.
What is financial responsibility?
In order to ensure that money is available for on-site cleanup of a release to the environment and compensation of third parties for bodily injury and property damage, owners or operators of petroleum underground storage tanks are required by federal and state law to demonstrate that they have the financial capability to pay for sudden and non-sudden accidental releases from their underground storage tanks. This requirement applies to category one tanks. A category one tank is an underground storage tank except for:
- fuel oil storage tanks used for on-premises heating purposes, and
- farm or residential tanks for storing motor fuel.
If the Petroleum Cleanup Fund is chosen as the mechanism to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement of the UST Permit, then a check for the first year tank assessment is required to accompany the UST Form. Make check payable to the Treasurer, State of Vermont.
WHAT FEES ARE REQUIRED?
To register a tank, the only fee is a check for $10 made payable to the Town or City Clerk of the Town or City in which the tank is located. This is a land record fee. An example would be 22 Smith Street, Waterbury, the check would be payable to the Town Clerk of Waterbury. The check is forwarded to the Agency with the completed UST Form. Do not send the check to the Town Clerk. Part 1 of the UST Form is recorded in the land records against the land owner’s name.
Permit fees: $125.00 per tank/per year. A compartmental tank is considered one tank. Make check payable to the Treasurer, State of Vermont.
Example: If a facility is brand new and never had tanks then the fees are $10.00 for the land record fee and $125.00 per tank fee. so there would be one check made out to the town/ city for $10.00 and another check for $125.00 or more(depending on the number of tanks to be permitted) made out to the the Treasurer, State of Vermont.
If a Permitted facility is adding another tank(s) the fees are as stated above
Questions? Contact: June Reilly at 802- 522-0231