State of Vermont

Part 5 of UST Form revised 1/12/2012 amended 8/1/2013

Department of Environmental Conservation

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS Billing Form and Worksheet

Facility ID#	
Tank/Facility Location:	
Address:	Town/City/Zip code
Tank Owner:	Permittee (tank owner or operator):

In order to ensure that money is available for the cleanup of a petroleum release from an underground storage tank (UST), all owners/permittees of a Category One UST, or a farm or residential motor fuel UST greater than 1100 gallons in capacity, are required to demonstrate financial capability to pay for cleanup and compensate third parties. Under Vermont law, the owner/permittee has three options (more fully described below) for meeting financial responsibility obligations. Allowable mechanisms for demonstrating financial responsibility under Options 2 and 3 below are addressed under UST Rule 8-305.

OPTION 1: FULL PARTICIPATION IN THE PETROLEUM CLEANUP FUND (Payment of Annual Assessment Fee)

An owner/permittee who pays all required fees, including assessment fees*, may receive reimbursement from the petroleum cleanup Fund (PCF) after the first \$10,000 of eligible costs have been paid by the owner/permittee. Reimbursements for corrective action shall not exceed \$1,240,000 for any site. In addition to reimbursement for corrective action, third parties may be compensated up to \$1 million per occurrence for costs incurred for bodily injury and property damage claims.

*See Billing Form & Worksheet, on reverse side, for required assessment fees.

OPTION 2: PARTIAL PARTICIPATION IN PCF (Supplemented by other means of financial responsibility)

The annual assessment fee of \$100 per tank shall be reduced by 50 percent if the owner/permittee can demonstrate evidence of financial responsibility to allow the taking of corrective action in the amount of \$100,000 per occurrence and the compensation of third parties for bodily injury and property damage in the amount of \$300,000 per occurrence. By choosing this option for meeting financial responsibility, an owner/permittee may receive reimbursement from the PCF after the first \$110,000 of eligible costs have been paid by the owner/permittee, and the owner/permittee has paid all required frees.

OPTION 3: OTHER MEANS OF DEMONSTRATING FINANCIAL RESPONSIBLITY (SELF INSURED AND/OR POLLUTION LIABILITY INSURANCE)

Payment of an annual assessment will not be required if the owner/permittee can demonstrate evidence of financial responsibility to allow the taking of corrective action and the compensation of third parties for bodily injury and property damage each in the amount of \$1 million per occurrence. Note: owners/permittees who choose this option are not participants in the PCF and will not receive any reimbursement from the PCF.

Note: For those who choose Options 1 or 2, all claims for reimbursements from the PCF are subject to eligibility requirements as specified in the "Procedures for Reimbursement" from the Petroleum Clean Up Fund.

Please check chosen method of financial responsibility:

Į]	OPTION 1:	Payment of Annual Assessment. *Complete the following Billing Form & Worksheet to determine the amount of your annual tank assessment.
ſ]	OPTION 2:	Eligible for PCF after first \$110,000 of corrective action cost has been borne by owner or permittee. Attach self insurance document signed financial officer and/or Certificate of Insurance from Insurance Company. Also, complete worksheet below. Assessment will be one-half of the amount.
I]	OPTION 3:	Self -Insurance and/or Pollution liability Insurance. Attach self- insurance document signed by financial officer and/or Certificate of Insurance from Insurance Company. See following webpage <u>http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-</u> <u>idx?c=ecfr&sid=1559de5743bddae25610f122eb913fb5&rgn=div8&view=text&node=40:2</u> <u>6.0.1.1.10.8.47.6&idno=40</u>

NEW DOUBLE WALL TANK

*Billing Form & Worksheet for Option 1

Determine your facility type & circle A, B, or C, and then complete the highlighted area below Number of Category One Tanks used to store petroleum (includes waste oil) in service at the facility:

- A. COMMERCIAL OR INDUSTRIAL FACILITY, NOT RETAILING MOTOR FUEL, is subject to an annual assessment of \$100 per tank.
- B. Retail motor fuel facility:
 - 1. If total gallonage sold is greater than an average of 40,000 gallons/month (480,000 gallons/year) then assessment is \$100 per tank.
 - 2. If total gallonage sold is less than an average of 40,000 gallons/month (480,000 gallons/year), but more than an average of 20,000 gallons/month (240,000 gallons/year) then assessment is \$75 per tank.
 - 3. If total gallonage sold is less than an average of 20,000 gallons/month (240,000 gallons/year) the assessment is \$75 per tank, but not more than \$100 per facility.

Total gallonage sold per month at this facility?

- C. Municipality facility (including school district):
 - 1. If total gallonage used by the municipality is greater than an average of 40,000 gallons/month then assessment is \$100 per tank.
 - 2. If total gallonage used by the municipality is less than an average of 40,000 gallons/month then assessment is \$50 per tank.

Total gallonage used per month at this facility? _____

CALCULATION OF TANK ASSESSMENT Number of permitted tanks, x appropriate fee, = Assessment due Number of permitted tanks______ x \$_____ Tank Assessment = \$______

The amount shown above is due to the State of Vermont and must be submitted to the state no later than October 1 of each year (July 1 to June 30), or with the UST Form Application for new tank permits. Failure to pay the required assessment fee may be grounds for the Secretary to require closure of the facility until proper evidence of financial responsibility is submitted to the state.

Checks payable to the Treasurer, State of Vermont and mailed to: VT Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Conservation, Underground Storage Tank Program 1 National Life Drive, Davis 1, Montpelier VT 05620-3704