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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

MEALS AND ROOMS TAX 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 Provides authority to make sales of taxable meals and beverages and rental of 
taxable rooms in Vermont and establishes Vermont Business Tax Account to 
report and remit the tax. A license must be obtained before conducting 
business. Go to www.vtsosonline.com/online. Use this site if you’ve already 
registered your business--just log in to your account. 
 
All taxpayers should file returns and pay meals and rooms tax due using 
myVTax, a free and secure online filing site at https://myvtax.vermont.gov/_/ 

   
EXAMPLE OF 
ACTIVITY 
 

 Operation of restaurant, catering, bar business, or vending machine that 
dispenses food or beverages   
Operation of hotel, motel, bed & breakfast 
Operation of retail store making taxable meal sale 
Rental of cottages, camps, condos if rented for more than 15 days per year 
(note that the first 14 days are also taxable) 

   
CRITERIA FOR 
JURISDICTION 

 The meals and rooms tax is paid when purchasing meals or alcoholic 
beverages served in bars and restaurants, and when renting a room. 
Businesses must collect meals and rooms tax from their customers on the 
purchase price at the appropriate rate and remit the tax to the Vermont 
Department of Taxes. 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 
 

 (1) Name, mailing address, and social security number of all owners, (2) 
Federal identification number assigned by IRS, (3) Date business first became 
subject to meals and rooms tax, (4) Estimate of quarterly tax to be collected  

   
WEB ADDRESS  http://tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/meals-and-rooms-tax 
   
APPLICATION 
TIMEFRAME 

 Up to two weeks  

   
ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 DEPARTMENT OF TAXES 
 
CONTACT: Business Tax Section 

Phone: 802-828-2551 
  FAX: 802-828-5787 
                        Email:  tax.business@vermont.gov  
 
ADDRESS: 133 State Street 
  Montpelier, VT 05633 

   
AUTHORITY  Title 32 V.S.A. Chapter 225 
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APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 Any aggrieved taxpayer may within sixty days, appeal in writing a 
determination by the commissioner concerning a notice of deficiency or an 
assessment of penalty or interest. 

 


