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State of Vermont 
PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION 

   

VERMONT MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER LICENSE 
   
SUMMARY 
DESCRIPTION 
OF PERMIT 

 Any person, partnership, or corporation who is engaged in the business of 
buying, selling or exchanging new or used motor vehicles must obtain a 
Vermont Dealer’s License. 

   
CRITERIA FOR 
JURISDICTION 

 The dealership is open for business at least 104 days during the calendar year.  
The dealer owns real estate at his or her place of business or has a lease that 
includes a building of at least 1200 square feet in size used primarily for the 
business of the dealership.   For new and used car dealers, engaged in the 
business means selling 12 or more pleasure cars or motor trucks owned but not 
registered by the seller, except for vehicles that are to be scrapped, dismantled 
or destroyed.  Engaged in the business shall also mean selling, during the 
immediately preceding registration year, 12 or more vehicles which have been 
in lease or rental services. 

   
INFORMATION 
REQUIRED 

 Application forms for a Vermont Dealer’s License are available by contacting the 
Department of Motor Vehicles at 802-828-2038. 

   
FEES  New/Used Car Dealers and Auction Dealers Annual Fee:  $375.00 

Motorcycle/Moped Dealers Annual Fee: $48.00 
Trailer Dealers Annual Fee: $90.00 
Highway Bldg. Equipment Dealers Annual Fee:  $92.00 
Farm Equipment Dealers Annual Fee:  $42.00 
ATV Dealers Annual Fee:  $45.00 
Snowmobile Dealers Annual Fee: $40.00 
Motorboat Dealers Annual Fee:  $30.00 

   
APPLICATION 
TIME FRAME 

 Initially depends upon time involved with local hearings and approval.  Dealers 
must certify that they are in compliance with all local zoning regulations as they 
relate to their place of business.  The local zoning administrator or, in the 
absence thereof, the Town Clerk must indicate that the business is in 
compliance with all local zoning regulations.  Four to six weeks. 
 

   
ADMINISTERING 
AGENCY 

 CONTACT INFORMATION 
AGENCY OF TRANSPORTATION 

ENFORCEMENT SAFETY DIVISION 
 
ADDRESS:  120 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05633 
TELEPHONE:   802 828-2067     FAX:  802 828-2092 
WEB SITE:   http://www.dmv.state.vt.us/dealers/dealers.htm

http://www.dmv.state.vt.us/dealers/dealers.htm
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AUTHORITY  23 VSA §’s 4 (8) & 800 
   
APPEAL 
PROCESS 

 After exhausting the right of administrative appeal to the Transportation Board 
under 19 V.S.A. 5(d) 5, a person aggrieved by an order, act or decision of the 
Agency of Transportation may appeal to the Superior Court and all proceedings 
shall be de novo.  Any persons, including the agency, may appeal to the 
Supreme Court from a judgment or ruling of the Superior Court. 

   
OTHER PERMITS  Construction for a commercial purpose may require an Act 250 Permit.  Contact 

a District Coordinator at a regional office. (Sheet #47)  (See Map).  Operation of 
a business with employees may require a Wastewater System and Potable 
Water Supply Permit (Sheet #1).  The Department of Public Safety, Fire Safety 
Division has jurisdiction over the interior of a building open to the public. 
www.vtfiresafety.org
 
Contact a Permit Specialist for a Project Review Sheet. 
Permit Specialist Locator:  http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/ead/pa/index.htm

 

http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/permit_hb/sheet47.pdf
http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/permit_hb/sheet01.pdf
http://www.vtfiresafety.org/
http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/ead/pa/index.htm
http://www.anr.state.vt.us/dec/ead/pa/index.htm
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