revised 6/2018 Sheet # 59



State of Vermont PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

LICENSING OF NURSING HOMES, RESIDENTIAL CARE HOMES, THERAPEUTIC COMMUNITY RESIDENCES, AND ASSISTED LIVING FACILITIES

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF PERMIT A license is required to operate a nursing home, a residential care home, a therapeutic community residence, or an assisted living residence.

CRITERIA FOR JURISDICTION

"Residential care home" means a place, however named, excluding a licensed foster home, which provides for profit or otherwise, room, board and personal care to three or more residents unrelated to the licensee [or operator in the case of an unlicensed home].

"Assisted living residence" means a program or facility that combines housing, health and supportive services to support resident independence and aging in place. At a minimum, assisted living residences shall offer, within a homelike setting, a private bedroom, private bath, living space, kitchen capacity, and a lockable door. Assisted living shall promote resident self-direction and active participation in decision-making while emphasizing individuality, privacy and dignity.

"Nursing facility" or "facility" means an institution or a distinct part of an institution which is primarily engaged in providing to its residents: (a) skilled nursing care and related services for residents who require medical or nursing care; (b) rehabilitation services for the rehabilitation of injured, disabled or sick persons; or (c) on a 24 hour basis, health related care and services to individuals who because of their mental or physical condition require care and services which can be made available to them only through institutional care.

"Therapeutic community residence" means a transitional facility (hereinafter called residence) providing individualized treatment to three or more residents in need of supportive living arrangement to assist them in their efforts to overcome a major life adjustment problem, such as alcoholism, drug abuse, mental illness and delinquency.

INFORMATION REQUIRED

A completed license application form; plans and specifications for construction.

WEB ADDRESS http://dlp.vermont.gov

FEES None

APPLICATION TIME FRAME

Minimum 3 months

revised 6/2018 Sheet # 59

ADMINISTERING AGENCY

AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF DISABILITIES, AGING AND INDEPENDENT LIVING DIVISION OF LICENSING AND PROTECTION

CONTACT: Suzanne Leavitt, Assistant Director Survey and Certification

802-241-0480

Suzanne.Leavitt@vermont.gov

ADDRESS: HC 2 South, 280 State Drive

Waterbury, VT 05671-2060

AUTHORITY 33 VSA Chapter 71

APPLICABLE RULES

<u>Assisted Living Residence Licensing Regulations</u>

Home for the Terminally III Licensing Regulations

Home Health Agency Designation and Operation Regulations

Nursing Home Licensing and Operating Rules
Residential Care Home Licensing Regulations

Therapeutic Community Residences Licensing Regulations

APPEAL PROCESS

3 VSA § 3091; 33 VSA § 7118. A person aggrieved by a decision or action of the Licensing Division may file a request for a fair hearing with the Human Services Board if requested within thirty days of the Department's issuance of the decision.

OTHER PERMITS AND APPROVALS Wastewater System & Potable Water Supply Permit (Sheet # 1)
Department of Public Safety, Fire Safety Division (Sheet # 49)

Asbestos & Lead Program of Vermont Department of Health (Sheet #54 & 55.1)

Act 250 (Sheet # 47)

Local government zoning approval

Nursing License - RN or LPN - for staff, 3 Professional References