Revised 3/2019 Sheet #53.1



## State of Vermont PERMIT AND LICENSE INFORMATION

## FOOD PROCESSING ESTABLISHMENT

SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF PERMIT Food processors with gross receipts over \$10,000 must be licensed by the Department of Health.

CRITERIA FOR JURIDICTION

Establishments that process, manufacture, pack, warehouse, or distribute food for human consumption.

INFORMATION REQUIRED

The application requests information about the licensee, the type of facility being licensed, type of water and sewage systems serving the facility, proposed opening date and public building permit status and the applicant's status with the Tax Department. Information specific to facility operations may be requested.

**WEB ADDRESS** 

http://www.healthvermont.gov/health-environment/food-lodging/food-processing-

licensing

**FEES** 

Gross receipts of \$10,000 – \$50,000 -- \$175.00 Gross receipts over \$50,000 -- \$275.00

APPLICATION TIME FRAME

30 days

ADMINISTERING AGENCY

AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH

**CONTACT:** Food and Lodging Program

802-863-7221 or 800-439-8550 foodlodging@vermont.gov

**ADDRESS:** 108 Cherry Street

PO Box 70

Burlington, VT 05402-0070

Map of Public Health Inspectors

**AUTHORITY** 18 VSA Chapter 85

APPLICABLE RULES

Vermont Health Regulations Chapter 5, Subchapter 1, "Good Manufacturing

Practices for Food Rule"

APPEAL PROCESS

The Commissioner of Health issues licenses. A decision of the Commissioner may

be appealed to the Board of Health under 18 VSA § 4351(e).

Revised 3/2019 Sheet #53.1

## OTHER PERMITS & APPROVALS

- Wastewater System & Potable Water Supply (See <u>Sheet 1</u>)
- Fire Safety Division (Sheet 49)
- VT Department of Taxes (<u>Sheet 93</u>); Business registration (<u>Sheet 90.1</u>)
- Asbestos Program (Sheet 54)
- Meat and dairy: <a href="http://agriculture.vermont.gov/">http://agriculture.vermont.gov/</a>
- Act 250 (Sheet #47)