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APPLICATION FOR CLASS 1A/1B VERMONT WATER SYSTEM OPERATOR 
*INITIAL AND RENEWAL* 

For Transient Non-Community Public Groundwater Systems Only 
INSTRUCTIONS 

1. Please TYPE OR NEATLY PRINT each response.  Incomplete forms will not be processed. 
2. Include the application fee of $45.   
3. Sign and date the Statement of Applicant on Page 2. 
4. FOR CLASS 1B RENEWALS:  Attach documentation for earned credit hours not listed in your renewal letter. 
5. Return the form and payment to the Drinking Water and Groundwater Protection Division (Division). 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

Name (First, MI, Last Name): 
Operator ID # (FOR RENEWALS ONLY):   
Address (Line 1): 
Address (Line 2): 
City: State: ZIP Code: 
Primary Phone: Extension: 
Emergency Phone/Pager:   Extension: 
Email Address: 

 
CLASS OF CERTIFICATION 
Check off the class of system for which you are applying.  Please refer to Section 21-12 of the Water Supply Rule 
for detailed water system classification guidelines and operator certification requirements for each class. 
☐ Class 1A (TNC water systems with no treatment, ion exchange for softening, cartridge filters, and/or limestone 
contactors)  
☐ Class 1B (TNC water systems with chlorine or UV disinfection (including standby capability)) 

 
EDUCATION REQUIREMENT 
All applicants must have a minimum of a High School Education or Equivalent (GED).   

School Name: 
City, State or Country: 
Highest Level of Education Completed: 

 
APPLICATION FEE 
Pay the $45 application fee.  Cash and credit cards are not accepted. Checks, postal money order, or express money orders 
must be made payable to the State of Vermont.  Do not combine this fee with other payments to the State. 

Check #: Check Amount: 
 
WATER SYSTEM DESIGNATIONS 
List all of the Vermont public water systems for which you are or will be the operator (attach additional sheets if 
necessary).  Please note:  in order to be officially associated with a public water system, an operator must be listed on the 
Water System Officials Contact Form on file with the Division. 

System Name WSID Number Town 
   
   
   

Review and Sign the Statement of Applicant on Page 2  

APPLICATION 
Drinking Water and Groundwater Protection 
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APPLICANT’S STATEMENT REGARDING CHILD SUPPORT AND VERMONT TAXES 

Title 15 Section 795 of the Vermont Statutes requires that this form be completed by anyone applying as an individual 
for a water system operator certification.  Water System Operator Certification may not be issued or renewed unless the 
licensee certifies that he or she is in good standing with respect to or in full compliance with a plan to pay any and all 
child support payable under a support order as of the date the application is filed.  “Good standing” means that less 
than one-twelfth of the annual support obligation is overdue; or liability for any support payable is being contested in a 
judicial or quasi-judicial proceeding; or he or she is in compliance with a repayment plan approved by the office of child 
support or agreed to by the parties; or the licensing authority determines that immediate payment of support would 
impose an unreasonable hardship (15 V.S.A Section 795).   

By law (32 V.S.A. Section 3113) no agency of the State may renew a license or other authority to conduct a trade or 
business (including license to practice a profession) unless the licensee first certifies, under the pains and penalties of 
perjury, that he or she is in good standing with the Department of Taxes.  A person is in good standing if no taxes are 
due; if the liability for any tax that may be due is on appeal; if the tax payer is in compliance with a payment plan 
approved by the Commissioner of Taxes; or if the licensing authority determines that immediate payment of taxes due 
and payable would pose an unreasonable hardship. 

The maximum penalty for perjury is fifteen (15) years in prison, a $10,000 fine, or both. 

STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

I hereby certify that I am not subject to any support order or I am subject to a support order and am in good standing 
with respect to or in full compliance with a plan to pay any and all child support due to the State of Vermont as of the 
date of this application.  I hereby certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that I am in good standing with 
respect to or in full compliance with a plan to pay any and all taxes due to the State of Vermont as of the date of this 
application. 

I further certify that all information contained in this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge. 

Print Name: 
 

Date: 

Signature: 
 

 

Prior to submitting this form, please verify the following: 

� Is the form filled out completely and correctly? 
� Have you identified the class of certification for which you’re applying? 
� Have you listed all water systems for which you are or will be the operator?   
� FOR CLASS 1B RENEWALS ONLY:  Have you attached course completion documentation for earned credit hours? 
� Have you signed and dated the Statement of Applicant? 
� Have you included a check or money order in the amount of $45 made payable to the State of Vermont? 

 

 

This application and related environmental information are available electronically at http://dec.vermont.gov/water 

Return this form to: 

Drinking Water and Groundwater Protection Division 
1 National Life Drive, Main Building 2 

Montpelier, VT 05620-3521 
 

Phone: 1-802-828-1535 
Fax: 1-802-828-1541 

http://dec.vermont.gov/water

